MP2 - V2.1 - Currently Playing button disappears if PowerMenu used

Discussion in 'Older releases' started by ge2301, March 27, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,358 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I found one bug. Can somebody please confirm before creating a Jira.

    Video - OK
    If you are playing a video the "currently playing" button is added to the GroupMenu.
    Once pressing the power button the CP button disappears and returns when leaving the power menu

    Audio - NOK
    If you are playing an audio file the "currently playing" button is added to the GroupMenu.
    Once pressing the power button the CP button disappears and returns only after pressing another GroupMenu button


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,861
    Likes Received:
    2,147
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,619 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Can not confirm this. As soon as I press the power button the CP button disappears as you reported. But here it appears again as soon as the Power menu is closed. No need to press a different GroupMenu button... Tested this with Win 10 theme, in case you suspect my theme to make the difference..

    But I have a suggestion... I would prefer to have the CP information (and most likely also the player controls) inside the music view. It is very complicated to navigate all the way to the group menu and then completely to the right only to see which song currently is playing. The extra information could be placed it the footer instead of the description, that often is empty nevertheless...
    Something like this quick and dirty mockup, with additional name of artist and song title above the smaller player control:
    Unbenannt.jpg
    Another place where this can be shown is in the header replacing "Audiotitel" Similar as it is in WMC skin but probably with a extra tiny player interface...
    upload_2017-3-27_14-42-32.png
    This will make navigation inside music nicer a lot.
     
  4. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,358 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Most probably I've introduced something with last changes, but I can not figure out what is wrong.
    I found out that the currently_playing_audio.xaml was broken and the fallback was used. I corrected some issues and now the mentioned problem occurs.
    I'll take another look and try to fix it :rolleyes:

    This is something not easy, as the current structure is manifested in the MenuModel. For Win10 theme is seems theoretically possible, if the player controls are very small and without visual information. For BV it's not possible because of missing space. Due to that I have no plans to change the current behaviour.
    In case you like the thin player controls of WMC, I propose you use the dark theme or merge the benefits from both into your own theme.
     
  5. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,358 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I can not find the issue. The GroupMenu part in master_bare_players.xaml is exactly the same as in previous version, so I have no clue what is causing the issue.
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,753
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I could not reproduce this in the latest builds. Appears to be fixed.
     
  7. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,358 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Yes, Brownard fixed it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!