custom names for recordings and series link

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by foxbenw, September 14, 2011.

1. foxbenw
    • Premium Supporter

foxbenw MP Donator

Fund Manager
    Ratings:
    +47 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hello
    I am quite new to MP. I am enjoying it so far. There are some things I would like it to do that I used to get with Sage, but also some extras that are excellent.

I have a couple of questions on recording TV series. Hopefully someone can help.

1) Is it possible to force the %series% value in recording\custom filenames (in TV Server config) to be XX, not just X? ie to get S04 rather than S4?

2) If I do a series link and use the avoid duplicate episodes option, will MP forget it has already recorded a particular episode if I then move that .ts file over to another folder (where I have pointed the TV series plugin)?
    (ie it'd be cool if MP could monitor other folders when deciding if I already have an episode. I like the idea of moving my recorded tv series over to another, more permanent, folder)

Thanks
    Ben

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

mm1352000 Development Group

Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Ben

I don't think so, sorry.

Yes, it will forget. However, you could potentially automate this process with a script that renames and move new recordings, and then [manually] re-import the permanent folder into the TV Server recording DB occasionally. The manual step is the killer I know, but unfortunately I can't think of any better way to do what you want. My proposal should work as long as you keep and also rename the XML files that are produced when the recordings are originally created.