[solved] - Das Erste HD Audio???

Discussion in 'General Support' started by joecrow, October 27, 2018.

  1. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    684
    Ratings:
    +1,151 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I receive the German broadcaster Das Erste via DVBT2 antenna and the audio only ever seems to be in stereo despite some programs claiming to be in Dolby:(. In contrast the audio in ZDF is always detected as Dolby and does play as such on my 5.1 system.:) Is there something wrong with my settings or is Das Erste audio really stereo only?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,749
    Likes Received:
    2,138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,593 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    I don't have DVB-T2 but in general I think "Das Erste" is airing programs in 5.1 over DVB-T2, especially if it claims to be 5.1...

    Probably the "wrong" audio track is selected as all German TV station airing many different audio tracks. Only one of those tracks is in Dolby aka AC3 or probably AAC instead on DVB-T2 (2.0 or 5.1 depends on the show but should be recognized as Dolby nevertheless). All other tracks are in Stereo only (on DVB-S all those Stereo tracks are mpeg audio). You can try to change the audio track while watching "Das Erste" and see if 5.1 (Dolby Digital, AC3, AAC,) then is available...
     
  4. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    684
    Ratings:
    +1,151 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The attached screenshot shows my choice of audio tracks for "Tatort" (recorded) which is indicated to be in Dolby, the first one is default and the second is Audio Description and also in stereo. I get exactly the same on live shows even when not indicated to be in Dolby. ZDF in contrast shows AC3 audio tracks.
    So I guess it is down to how to get the AAC track to play in 5.1?
    de.jpg
     
  5. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,749
    Likes Received:
    2,138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,593 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ok, this is different to the audio tracks on DVB-S2... Then I have no clue, how to fix this, sorry. I never could receive DVB-T here in the middle of nowhere...
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,532
    Likes Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The TsReader.log will log the channel count for the selected audio stream - attach the log if you can't find the info.
     
  7. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    684
    Ratings:
    +1,151 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    OK not quite sure what I should be looking at. The attached logs are for a quick play of a recording from Das Erste that should be DD but plays in stereo, then Live ZDF which does play in DD. Looking at the TS.Reader log both seem to show "Channels=2" .:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,749
    Likes Received:
    2,138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,593 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    "Dolby Digital" is not equivalent to multi channel audio. You even can decode a Mono track in Dolby Digital, no problem...
    On DVB-S you always have an AC3 track that is displayed as DD in the AVR. Most of the times those tracks are Stereo with better sound quality than the mpeg audio streams. Sometimes when you're lucky you really will have 5.1 but most of the times it's 2.0... As the sound quality is better than with mpeg audio (mostly it's not even mp3 but mp2) the AC3 track always is the best choice as long as your device is able to play AC3

    The recording from "Das Erste" still exists? If yes, then you best have a look with MediaInfo where you will see how many channels the audio tracks really have.

    By the way, it is possible that your recording starts with 2.0 audio only (pre- recording time and the airing before the program you want to record is in 2.0 only) and is switching to 5.1 once the "real" program starts. Probably your AVR did not get this and stays on 2.0 MediaInfo also don't see this as it only looks into the first frames of the video to determine the media data of this video file...
    Can you cut out a tiny bit of your recording from the middle where the "real" program is running? If yes, then you can upload it here so we can see if the audio track really is 2.0 or 5.1
     
  9. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    684
    Ratings:
    +1,151 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Yes it may well be the same with ZDF DVBT2, certainly there are times when I really can tell the audio is 5.1 while at other times, it may well be multi channel stereo despite the AVR indicating Dolby. That is not the case with Das Erste though my AVR always shows it as multi channel stereo and it always sounds like that.

    I do still have the recording and media info indicates 2 channels but as you mentioned that may well be down to the pre-recording time. I do not seem to have a video editing capability that will simply cut a piece out of the recording without re-encoding or can handle .ts. I'll look further during today but failing that I will take a short recording of this evenings Tatort once it has started fully.

    I'm curious to know if anyone else out there is able to get Dolby 5.1 on DVBT2 Das Erste, I doubt I'm the only one getting TV this way, but I guess I should ask in the German forum.:rolleyes:
     
  10. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,749
    Likes Received:
    2,138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,593 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    There are many free tools out there especially as you don't need a frame accurate cutting for this. A free, simple and easy to use tool is tsMuxeR GUI that also is useful to fix slightly damaged .ts files and even mastering DVD / BD. It's a portable app that didn't need to be installed and can run from everywhere... A little tool everyone operating with .ts files should have laying around somewhere..
     
  11. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    684
    Ratings:
    +1,151 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The attached vid.is a short piece of the Tatort recording made using record in VLC. I could not get tsMuxer to function see attached screenshot.
    ts.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!