[DEV NEEDED] DirectDraw problem ? unable to run external application after using MyTV

Discussion in 'General Support' started by level20peon, September 2, 2007.

  1. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    TV-Server Version: tvengine3 Rev15706
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.3 RC1 Rev15706
    MediaPortal Skin: BlueTwo wide
    Windows Version: Windows 2003 R2 SP2
    CPU Type: Intel Core2 Duo T5600 1830 MHz
    HDD: Samsung HD401LJ 400GB
    Memory: 2x512 MB DDR2 667MHz
    Motherboard: AOpen i945GTm-VHL
    Motherboard Chipset: Intel 945GT / Intel ICH7MDH
    Motherboard Bios: R1.05
    Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6600 LE passive
    Video Card Driver: Forceware 93.71
    Sound Card: Realtek ALC882D HD Audio (onBoard)
    Sound Card AC3: coaxial out / optical out
    Sound Card Driver: R1.54
    1. TV Card: FireDTV BDA DVB-C (Floppy DTV)
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-C
    1. TV Card Driver: 02/04/2007, 4.8.0 BDA Driver
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: unity digital TV
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC11m silver
    Cooling: 120mm Papst 4412F/2GLL / passive
    Power Supply: mCubed EF16 160W external passive cooled
    Remote: Logitech MX Air
    TV: Panasonic TX-26LX50F
    TV - HTPC Connection: S-Video


    Hey guys,



    I just installed some Games which require DirectDraw / Direct3D to run. When I start them out of MediaPortal they just work fine. If I turn on "MyTV" and then switch back to the Games they don't run properly anymore. Their processes are running when I check via TaskManager but their window just won't become visible.

    I have ruled out a codec problem because the problem occurs regardless of using ffdshow / MPV / Dscaler.
    Interesting, however, is that the Games still run when I play a video file before so MyTV must do something different in playback than the "normal" video playing process.

    This error only occurs when MediaPortal is in fullscreen mode. If I disable "DirectX exclusive mode" the error also does not exist (but video playback looks horrible due to tearing when I do this).


    I am attaching a log file which contains the following actions (debug log level):

    start Mediaportal -> run a game (gg.exe) -> switch to MyTV and start watching TV -> turn off TV and try to run the game once more (gg.exe)


    I would appreciate any help :D


    -level20peon
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I still have found no solution after several hours of testing. Is there a way to reset the DirectDraw device ? This bug is REALLY annoying since I have to restart MediaPortal everytime before I want to start a game.

    @all: It would be _really_ nice if somebody would at least could test this and eventually confirm this bug.


    -level20peon
     
  4. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I just managed to minimize MediaPortal before running a game via script but they still just are active as a process and don't properly show up. I really need to unload what MediaPortal has blocked in my DirectDraw device.


    -level20peon
     
  5. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    ...deleted this post and edited previous one instead...
     
  6. TritonT

    TritonT Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 23, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    31
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I am seeing exactly the same problem - can't launch external apps after using My TV. Does not matter whether the app is launched from My Programs or Multishortcut. Does not matter what the app is, have tried Opera, CDisplay, Mame, Mame32, VICE, CCS64 etc.

    I know the app is starting, MediaPortal does lose focus, but the app never appears on screen.

    Mame32 gives 3 errors - Unable to create Direct3D device, Unable to initilaize Direct3D and Unable to complete window creation. So it appears MyTV is holding something open even after it has be exited.

    Even a workaround would be handy, any ideas?
     
  7. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hello TritonT,

    I already tried the workaround mentioned above without success. Would you please provide your system specs. This would be at least something we could start with :D


    -level20peon
     
  8. TritonT

    TritonT Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 23, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    31
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I don't think my system specs will help, I admin 5 TV Servers and more than 10 Client MediaPortals, the problem happens with all of them. However, my MediaPortals do have a few things in common, Windows XP Pro SP2 full updates, MediaPortal svn16086, ffdshow-tryouts, Nvidia PureVideo, all using Nvidia graphics cards.

    I think the same problem is mentioned here - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/do_surf_internet_mp-t28964.html
    And here - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal_svn_snapshot_10_02_2007_01-t28944.html
     
  9. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I wanted to find similarities in our setup. Speaking of which I also have a Nvidia graphics card but I use Windows 2003 R2 SP2 with full updates. Maybe there are other similarities... I can't tell. I tested several codecs with the same result so this also doesn't seem to be the problem.
    I will do some troubleshooting next week to check if this error didn't occur in older versions of MediaPortal. At least I cannot remember that it once worked at all.


    -level20peon
     
  10. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Well I just tested with MediaPortal 0.2.2.0 and svn--06-01-2007--01-04-Rev14775 (this was the oldest package I could find). I ended up with the same error.

    I started running external applications a few months ago so I cannot tell if it has ever worked at all.


    -level20peon
     
  11. Olodin
    • Premium Supporter

    Olodin MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 19, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!