DirectTV SHEF IP Control Plugin for TVServer | Page 9

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by marirs, May 2, 2011.

  1. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,497
    Likes Received:
    4,710
    Ratings:
    +8,172 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Why would you want TV Server to control a mini-genie? It doesn't have a tuner, so I don't understand what benefits there would be.

    AFAIK there's no setting for a delay. You could add one... but you'd have to modify the plugin code.
    Having said that, the power control function has a bug relating to back-to-back (sequential) recordings. When the first recording finishes, the plugin turns off the power thereby killing the second recording. For that reason I'd recommend you don't use power control.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. LeeTXJD

    LeeTXJD Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    The mini-genie may not have a tuner (it relies on the main HR20-44) but it can independently display directv channels and I am able to use it with my mediaportal setup. I would prefer to use the SHEF plugin, otherwise it will be back to IR control.
    I subsequently noticed the power bug, so that is out.
    Some reseach I've completed seems to indicate the mac address is necessary to control the attached mini-genie. I suppose that would need new plug in code.
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,497
    Likes Received:
    4,710
    Ratings:
    +8,172 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes, that's correct. From reading the SHEF protocol, it looks like you can control the mini-genie by sending commands to the main genie. Those commands would be forwarded based on an optional MAC address parameter supplied with the command.

    It would indeed. It's possible. The main requirement would be adding a new "client MAC address" field for each of the existing 4 receiver settings. There'd also be the question of how does one figure out the MAC address for a given mini-genie.

    Do you know if the MAC address is listed somewhere in the mini-genie menus?
    Also, do you know if SHEF has to be enabled (opt-in) on the mini-genie like it does on the main genie?
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,497
    Likes Received:
    4,710
    Ratings:
    +8,172 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Maybe a "location" is shown rather than a MAC address...?
     
  6. LeeTXJD

    LeeTXJD Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I have confirmed I can change channels over the network by entering a url with the following formula:

    http://IPHR20-44:8080/tv/tune?major=CHANNEL&clientAddr=MINIGENIEMAC

    Where:
    IPHR20-44 is the ip address of the main genie dvr
    CHANNEL is the channel number
    MINIGENIEMAC is the MAC address for the mini genie without any colons.

    The minigenie has its own IP address on the client table on my router (but is inaccessible at that address) so its MAC address is discoverable.

    The address looks like the following (Note all addresses are fictitious)
    http://192.168.1.1:8080/tv/tune?major=202&clientAddr=AA12BB34CC56

    That will change the channel on the mini-genie client. However, if you try that syntax for the main genie dvr - it will result in an error. To change the channel on the main dvr all you need is
    http://192.168.1.1:8080/tv/tune?major=202

    I did not have to modify any settings on either device to make this work. So, I believe the SHEF is already enabled. Perhaps this is b/c having whole home service is enabled for the genie client boxes.

    Just in case, my hardware is an HR44/700 (Main DVR) - and C51-500 (Mini-Genie).

    I hope this helps
     
    Last edited: March 1, 2016
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,497
    Likes Received:
    4,710
    Ratings:
    +8,172 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Cheers for the info - it is indeed helpful. :)

    To answer my other questions:
    Going from the info on DirecTV's website, location (which maps to MAC address) seems to be set as part of the process where the Genie Mini is linked to the main Genie.
    https://support.directv.com/app/ans...leshooting-tips,-how-to-install-an-additional

    There's a SHEF request (getLocations) that enables you to get the list of { MAC address + location } for a given Genie.

    As a result, I think it would be more user friendly to enable people to enter the location (eg. BEDROOM, LOUNGE) rather than the MAC address.

    What do you think?
     
  8. LeeTXJD

    LeeTXJD Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America

    I like that idea. You're right it is much more user friendly.
     
  9. LeeTXJD

    LeeTXJD Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Is there anything that can be done to update the plugin to incorporate the new http commands used by the Genie mini?

    I have no coding experience, but I am willing to offer my set up to test changes.

    -LeeTXJD
     
  10. LeeTXJD

    LeeTXJD Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Greetings,

    Is there anyone who can assist with the coding of the DirecTV SHEF dll? There is a need to include the MAC address for setups with mini-genies. I am willing to offer my setup for testing.

    Thanks,
    LeeTXJD
     
  11. LeeTXJD

    LeeTXJD Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    BTW, I am willing to pay a reasonable bounty for the update.

    Let me know if anyone is interested. $50 Amazon gift card anyone?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!