Display driver starts lagging

Discussion in 'Mini Display' started by johsgjerde, November 30, 2012.

  1. johsgjerde

    johsgjerde Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I am running MP on the extended desktop on my Philips TV.

    Every once in a while the display driver starts to lag terribly and every transition and video or animation is choppy on the TV.
    My graphics card is a ATI 5870 and I use HDMI out to the TV and DVI to my monitor. But this issue was also happening on my old graphics card an ATI 5850.



    So have any of you experienced this? Sometimes I can fix the issue by changing refreshrate manually (HDTV-mode in CCC) and then back again (by dynamic refreshrate changer which works fine.) Other times I have to try other things. Like disabling the extended desktop, rebooting and then extend the desktop again.

    I have tried using MPC-HC on the extended desktop instead of MP and it is still choppy. Even the mouse lags over the screen.
    This leads me to thinking it is a driver issue.

    Anyone with similar experience?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,470
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,890 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    I guess logs would be nice her :)
     
  4. johsgjerde

    johsgjerde Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Well as I said above, MP is not the issue, logs don't show anything. The driver is the issue and it happens all randomly..
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Power supply may well be the cause of this, any chance of trying another unit.
     
  6. johsgjerde

    johsgjerde Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Well. The powersupply manages BF3 on 1920x1080 at medium settings without this happening, so I think it is powerful enough to run 2d?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!