Do a Fast TV channel scan(UK DVB) (< 20 seconds) | Page 3

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by HappyTalk, August 13, 2006.

  1. Sh4nn0w
    • Premium Supporter

    Sh4nn0w MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 14, 2006
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Telecommunications
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Try the tool on this [thread=13550]thread[/thread]

    Gives an output like this; helped me confirm which transmitter I was picking up.

    -- snip

    # 482000kHz
    # signal locked = Y present = Y stength = 45 quality = 60



    ============================================================================

    Frequency = 482000kHz

    Network_1("Crystal Palace", 481833, 8, 1)
    #Alternate frequencies
    #Network_1("Crystal Palace", 658166, 8, 1)
    #Network_1("Crystal Palace", 746000, 8, 1)
    #Network_1("Crystal Palace", 474000, 8, 1)
    Program_ 1("ITV1" , 8261, 520, 521, 256) # LCN=3
    Program_ 2("ITV1" , 8261, 520, 522, 256) #
    -- snip
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. funkstar
    • Premium Supporter

    funkstar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 9, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    Home Country:
    Scotland Scotland
    Some Set Top Boxes also tell you which is how i found out a few years ago :)
     
  4. Nemulate

    Nemulate Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 29, 2005
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    IOW
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Still no sign of appearing in SVN?????
     
  5. netgroover

    netgroover Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    ALL UK Transmitters here!!! **Attention Developers**

    After having heaps of trouble with reception on computer-based TV cards, and not on my standalone digital boxes. I decided to find out exactly which channels my local transmitter (Waltham) broadcast on, and the result was amazing, perfect reception!

    So as this is a community project I decided to contribute by researching all (I think) UK Transmitters and producing the attached text file, which should make life easy for all UK users.


    The only problem is that the list is fairly extensive(!), so maybe it would be a good idea for the Developers to have a seperate drop-down list for Countries? i.e. one for Countries and then one for the Transmitters in that Country. Just a suggestion...

    If you don't know what transmitter(s) are near you, look at this link http://www.dtg.org.uk/consumer/coverage.html, which has a handy post code search.

    For anyone that's interested in how I did it, the list is based on the UHF Channels that the Transmitters broadcast on, cross-referenced with a list of what frequency (mhz) matches the UHF Channels. The resulting list was then formatted into the dvbt.xml file format.

    Hope it's what you need and saves you the hours I endured fixing my reception!!

    Netgroover
    :D
     
  6. bigj

    bigj Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 10, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thanks for the good work, though note - offsets are not always to be applied I think.
    e.g. I use the following for Mendip with offset set to *zero* - as the last multiplex doesn't require the 167 offset.


    <carrier frequency="778167" bandwidth="8" />
    <carrier frequency="746167" bandwidth="8" />
    <carrier frequency="802167" bandwidth="8" />
    <carrier frequency="826167" bandwidth="8" />
    <carrier frequency="754167" bandwidth="8" />
    <carrier frequency="842000" bandwidth="8" />
     
  7. funkstar
    • Premium Supporter

    funkstar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 9, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    Home Country:
    Scotland Scotland
    Excellent work netgroover :)
     
  8. netgroover

    netgroover Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    No worries, hopefully the Developers will pick this up and stick it in the next release for us.
     
  9. litto43ph

    litto43ph New Member

    Joined:
    January 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    I believe that these were all for the terrestial channel, but what if i want to add transponder channels (satellite) in my Tunning parameter list , can i use this set-up also? I just want to add my transponder channels that does not included in the TPL list. Can you please help?
     
  10. mPod

    mPod Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    transmitter.txt has been merged into svn. As some regions have changed now (some have less frequencies listed in netgroover's list), you guys have to check if it still includes all needed freqs for your region. If not, we have to revert some back.

    Sidenote: Next time better submit such long lists to SourceForge, patches section. That way it gets the attention of us devs and doesn't get lost. Better than crossposting. :p
     
  11. netgroover

    netgroover Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    This is great news for all UK Users, :D though as you say people need to check for correctness, especially as I am relying on Internet sources that may be incorrect/outdated.

    Any thoughts on my suggestion about adding a country filter to the Setup Program?

    By the way I have no idea what crossposting is or what rules I have broken whilst trying to help the Project?! :sorry: However, was the infraction (whatever that is) really necessary? I have no idea what Sourceforge is, how to access it, and that you check it. So any information on this would be most useful for me and probably other users.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!