Does anyone else has the feeling that mp is getting worse in terms of live tv?

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by RicoHTPC, February 26, 2016.

  1. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am using mp since version 1.1.3 (I think) and it's been quite a long walk to get to a media center that fully
    meets my requirements. One big point has always been a smooth live tv playback.
    After much tweaking and a lot of work by the tv devs I achieved my goal with mp 1.11
    Since then every update meant a bit of a drawback which I always tried to counteract with various options.
    For sure there have been changes where the devs have no influence on, like the upgrade to win 10.
    (and to say this: I would have loved to stay with win 7 but ms kind of forces you with their update policy..)
    But even without the windows change it seems to get worse bit by bit.



    So here is the question: Is this only my immagination or does anyone else experience this as well?
    Most of the time in the changelog there are no changes at the tv section which makes it even odder.
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I think that this is hard to reply to. One of our sayings here is "You can't improve what you can't measure!" That said, I am reluctant to put a blame on the recent MP versions, unless we can really name specifics in order to be able to follow up on them.
     
  4. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,282
    Likes Received:
    5,005
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,446 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    TBH I don´t see any drawbacks since the early versions of MP - no stutter, no flicker, no whatsoever ;)
    But I´m on single seat, so multi-seat may be different ;)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. te3hpurp
    • Premium Supporter

    te3hpurp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 23, 2008
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Software Architect
    Location:
    Rovaniemi
    Ratings:
    +229 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    Well, that totally depends from where one is looking. I mean, if someone is previous US MCE user, or not and is using dvb-t,dvb-c,dvb-s
    For me it has improved a lot since I started about 7 years ago. Back then I has to be booted few times a day. And now past 5 years it has been only source of live-tv.
    Rock solid, doing all my recordings with different kind of shedules, SD and HD works fine.

    Problems have included broken Hw, or "low user intelligency", meaning my mistakes mainly.

    So I can't really agree

    Br,
     
  6. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +123 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am using MP since 0.2.3. I think 1.10 was the most stable for me. 1.11, 1.12 and 1.13 updates were not so stable anymore. I have set up a fresh 1.13 install on a new hardware with Windows 10 and I now get the intermittent 'Timeshift could not be started'. Some satellite channels will not be found anymore during a scan. I have now two HTPC with MP and both have their problems with live TV. On a third PC (mediaserver) I installed MP2 but still the same problems with channels not found since it is the same TVE 3.0 engine. A separate dedicated satellite receiver connected on the same ports of the multiswitch device will find and tune all channels. Also those that are missing in MP.

    In fact 1.13 has broken some functionality of my MCE remotes regarding live TV. On the one HTPC the channel increase/decrease does not work (jumps a variable amount of channels up/down). No cure right now. On the other one (with the fresh 1.13 install) the mute button did not work anymore (installation of 1.14 Pre-Release cured the problem with the mute button). Also selecting the channel stored on position '8' kills live TV and MP freezes. A posting on the board did not get any reaction from the developers. It is a fresh install what could I do better?

    So, yes the live TV quality (for me) was better in previous releases. The woman acceptance factor for my wife has gone down the drain for the stability problems of MP > 1.10 such that I am contemplating to go back to a fresh install of MP 1.10 on both HTPC.

    When I have some time I want to have a look at Kodi 16 which I could even make portable according to PortableApps standards very easily. Maybe connect it to MP's TVE 3.0 to see if it is the MP client which gives troubles.

    Do not misunderstand me. MP is a very good product but the latest incarnations are giving me troubles after years of good stability and usage. I am looking forward to MP2 and I would use it productive if it was up to the functionality MP1 has with plugins plus more stability.


    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    I use Live TV on 4 HTPCs without any issues but I stayed on W8.1.
     
  8. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,894
    Likes Received:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,626 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    I only had issues with the MySQL and/or SQLExpress servers resulting in unreliable TV experiences with MP1. Especially after the TV server was wake up from standby, the SQL server never worked properly... Those issues begun somewhere around MP1 V1.7, 1.8 or 1.9 (did not remember exactly) and never was cured as long as I've used MP1. Since I'm using MP2 there is no MySQL server any more and all issues I had with Live TV are gone. Ever since the beginning of my MP2 "productive" usage it was as stable as it was on the "best days" of MP1.
     
  9. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +123 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs

    One of my issues with MP2 is that the client does not wake up the server. That works with MP1 and the same client and server ;)
     
  10. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,894
    Likes Received:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,626 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Also this is off topic my client can wake up the server if necessary... Even Kodi can wake up the MP2 server
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    You guys know that TV Server has been under code freeze for quite some time now, right? That means there have been no significant changes to the TV Server or MP 1 TV plugin functions for that time...
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!