empty or or no .ts file when recording

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by willemx, November 24, 2008.

  1. willemx
    • Premium Supporter

    willemx MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 20, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    TV-Server Version: RC-3
    MediaPortal Version: RC-3
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue 3
    Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
    CPU Type: Intel Core 2 6400 2.14GHz
    HDD: 3 x WDC3200KS
    Memory: 2 GB
    Motherboard: ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
    Video Card: NVIDEA GeForce 7600 GS
    Video Card Driver: 6.14.11.7824
    Sound Card: Realtek on MB
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver: 5.10.0.5247
    1. TV Card: FireDTV DVB-S2
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    1. TV Card Driver: 5.0.1.0
    2. TV Card: FireDTV DVB-S2
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    2. TV Card Driver: 5.0.1.0
    3. TV Card: Terratec Cinergy 2400i
    3. TV Card Type: dual DVB-T
    3. TV Card Driver: 1.1.0.283
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Astra 19, Astra 23, Astra 28, Hotbird, KPN Digitenne
    HTPC Case: Antec P180
    Cooling: Antec
    Power Supply: Antec
    Remote:
    TV: Eizo HD2441W
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI

    Frequently (but not always) the .ts file of a recording has a filesize of 0 bytes or is missing alltogether. The corresponding .xml file is always ok.
    For example: in the attached tv.log the .ts file for the recorded program "Beyond Tomorrow - - 2008-11-24 - 8_00.ts" (recorded at around 07:55 on 2008-11-24) is 0 bytes long.
    I am using a setup with a dedicated tv-server (see system specs).
    I can see nothing special about this recording in the log files. Can anyone point me in the right direction ?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Gryvel

    Gryvel New Member

    Joined:
    February 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Same problem here

    Hi,

    Did you solve this? I'm also getting 0 kb .ts files now and then for scheduled recordings. Very annoying.
     
  4. willemx
    • Premium Supporter

    willemx MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 20, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    The problem has gone away now, but I didn't really "solve" anything and I am afraid it is still lurking in the background and could come back any time...
    I suspect it has something to do with a CAM problem and/or my setup:

    The CAM problem could be that occasionally a CAM stops working spontaneously (I have read somewhere in other threads that you need to reset your CAM now and then (I don't know when exactly)). My tvserver is allways on, so the CAMs will never be reset unless I turn the server off manually and this is what I do now about once every week.

    The setup problem could be related to my DVBS cards / LNB configuration. My tvserver has 2 DVBS2 cards, connected via a DISEQC switch to 4 LNB's. Some LNB's are dual LNB's, but not all. That means that not all satelite channels can be received by both cards. I have not found a way in MP server setup to specify exactly which card can receive which channel and with what DISEQC code. Actually I think that MP cannot handle this situation.
    I am planning to replace all single LNB's by dual LNB's and add another DISEQC switch so that each DVBS card can have the same channel setup.

    hope this helps a bit ?

    BTW, see also:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...erver-90/recordings-fail-empty-ts-file-53480/

    Willem
     
  5. jhb

    jhb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 19, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SW Developer - realtime appl.
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
  6. willemx
    • Premium Supporter

    willemx MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 20, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    jhb: Yes, I think I have (had) the same problem. As I stated in my previous post I have recently replaced all single LNB's by dual LNB's so now both cards have access to the same channels. All my recordings are now fine; I never had a 0-byte .ts file since.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!