EPG Grabber Stalls

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by Orbixx, March 8, 2013.

  1. Orbixx

    Orbixx New Member

    Joined:
    March 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    MediaPortal Version: 1.2.3



    Description
    When fetching EPG data over the DVB-T card, it stalls endlessly on the same channel. I have tried unticking that channel to prevent its respective EPG data from being fetched, but it just tries a different channel and still endlessly stalls.
    All logs grabbed.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    Standard simple DBT-T setup, nothing esoteric. At least not user-facing.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    As you are in the UK, in the EPG grabber config try unticking all the channels, then just tick BBC1 and ITV1 - any of the Freeview 'muxes' carry the EPG data for *all* channels, so you don't need to grab from every channel, just a few of the 'always on' channels.

    The stall is possibly because the channel is part-time and is off-air at the time.
     
  4. Orbixx

    Orbixx New Member

    Joined:
    March 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    That's great, thank you very much. Sorry, the fact it stalled without any error made me assume it was a bug.
     
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    So it is working now?
     
  6. Orbixx

    Orbixx New Member

    Joined:
    March 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Yeah, it suddenly grabbed it by itself later today; at the time of this thread's creation I was configuring Mediaportal whilst that channel was off air. It seems that you were right about the channel being offline causing the issue. Perhaps you can alter the EPG grabber to time out after a certain amount of time and move on to a different channel to try and grab some EPG data?
     
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    TNX for the feedback Orbixx ;)

    Tony, do we consider this as a bug? Or can we somehow prevent this stall to happen on 'off air' channels?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!