[Finished] - Fixing HID mute and MediaPortal exit mapping

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Stéphane Lenclud, January 8, 2016.

  1. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    See MP1-4750.

    Those changes apply to our HID input handler configuration.
    Users with custom configuration will need to integrate those changes manually.

    We had situation where the mute button on your remote did not work reliably. This change should be fixing that by letting the OS deal with any volume control commands. @JJDoherty will be happy to see this integrated in the next release.



    Also part of that change is the addition of 3 buttons mapping to close MediaPortal. See the following post about this issue from @fischy667.
    1. TvPower
    2. Ext11
    3. AppCtrlExit
     
    Last edited: January 9, 2016
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @Testers @Developers This is ready for testing, you can head to the JIRA and download the installer.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @regeszter Let's try to understand your problem.
    Are you not using the default audio device in MP?
     
  5. regeszter
    • Team MediaPortal

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,151 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Yes.
     
  6. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    If you are using a custom HID configuration those changes won't take effect. You need to fix your custom config or delete it.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. regeszter
    • Team MediaPortal

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,151 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Works. I suggest to add this info to release news!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +898 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    May I suggest that it would be useful to add an "Eject CD" definition to the Generic HID configuration? Reasons:

    (1) Some remote controls have a dedicated "Eject" button (e.g. the Hewlett-Packard).
    (2) There is a code that WMC accepts and actions (see referenced thread).
    (3) There is already a MediaPortal remote-control action called "EjectCD".
    (4) Several users would like to use this capability.

    See this thread:

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/extra-buttons-on-hp-mce-remote.122184/

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  10. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Is it not there already? The HP remotes are sending Ext2 for eject.
     
  11. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +898 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Could be. I don't have MP 1.13 installed at the moment (I overwrote my test partition with MP 1.09 in order to check something else, and my "production" partition is MP 1.12!).

    Would "Eject" be a better name for this function, rather than "Ext2"? Does "Ext2" always mean "Eject", or can it vary from one remote to another? I can't help thinking that calling it "Eject" would result in fewer questions being asked by new users...

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!