Freeview NZ - not scanning new transponder

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by Simon2014, September 13, 2017.

  1. Simon2014

    Simon2014 New Member

    Joined:
    September 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Calling all New Zealand MP users. Have you been able to pick up the new (610MHz) transponder from the Sky Tower or Auckland Infill?



    Maori Television and Te Reo have moved to this new transponder when they went to HD. I re-scanned in MP (1.16) and it picked up some other new channels but not these two because it wasn't scanning 610MHz. I tried 'update transponder list' and MP TV Server Configuration crashed.

    Is there a settings file for the transponder lists I could modify to include the new transponder?

    Failing that, does anyone know all the technical information for these two channels such that I could enter them manually?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    1. Open TV Server Configuration.
    2. Navigate to the scan page for your DVB-T/T2 tuner.
    3. Tick "use advanced tuning options".
    4. Select scan type "single transponder".
    5. Specify frequency "610000" kHz.
    6. Specify bandwidth "8" MHz.
    7. Click "scan for channels".
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    ...and yes.

    c:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\TuningParameters\dvbt\New Zealand.[your region/transmitter name here].xml

    XML files can be edited in any text editor (notepad, wordpad etc.).
    The format should be self-evident.
     
  5. Simon2014

    Simon2014 New Member

    Joined:
    September 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks!

    I'll try the above, though I think that may have caused the configuration to crash too.

    Also, thanks for the tip re the transponder list. I'll try that too.
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Please provide full log files (ie. collect using the supplied Watchdog tool with option 3 ["export..."]) for any crash.
     
  7. Simon2014

    Simon2014 New Member

    Joined:
    September 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The single transponder scan worked without crashing last night - not sure what I did wrong earlier. I also updated the scanning parameter xml file so future scans will include this transponder.

    I have the two channels now and they're in the MP TV guide, but they're not mapping to the EPG (I use EPGrabber to bring in MHEG5). The listings are in the EPG xml file but they're not mapping. Any thoughts on why that might be?

    One complication is that these two new channels have the same names as the two old channels which are no longer being broadcast.

    Thanks for all your help!
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Have you mapped them in the XMLTV plugin?
    (After saving the mapping, you must also reimport the XMLTV file in order to see EPG against the channels.)

    So delete the old channels! :)
     
  9. Simon2014

    Simon2014 New Member

    Joined:
    September 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks; I'll try that tonight.

    I remembered about the mapping just after posting...
     
  10. Simon2014

    Simon2014 New Member

    Joined:
    September 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Deleted old channels and re-mapped. All fixed now!
     
  11. rocklander
    • Premium Supporter

    rocklander MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    rotovegas
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I'm having issues with this one still. on the rotorua tower. deleted the old mappings and I get all channels except maori. (tvs in the house do get it). can I add it manually, and of so, how (what's the correct freq etc)?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!