Guide to hardware selection | Page 3

Discussion in 'General' started by knutinh, December 12, 2005.

  1. CHli

    CHli Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Embedded Software Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sh4nn0w
    • Premium Supporter

    Sh4nn0w MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 14, 2006
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Telecommunications
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  4. mdbarber

    mdbarber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 19, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    On-board graphics

    Maybe worth raising here but ive seen an intel 950 on board vga run 1440x900 quite well, that was with a decent cpu and 2gb ddr2
    only downside is that it wont do 1366x768, just not implemented in any vbios/driver that i can find
    onboard vga is generally passive and would seem an ideal solution for 70% of htpc users but unless it supports the most common panel res there is.........
    any one know of any micro atx boards that do 1366x768?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. knutinh

    knutinh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 4, 2005
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Did you check out the ones based on integrated nvidia graphics? They are supposed to be better suited to video acceleration than intel solutions, and I am wildly guessing that they will support 1366x768 like all stand-alone nvidia cards do.

    -k
     
  6. mdbarber

    mdbarber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 19, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Nah had already invested in matx case n intel cpu cant seem to find nforce board in 775 format
    but next time might give it a go
    regrds
    mdb
     
  7. etheesdad
    • Premium Supporter

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    UPDATE TO ORIGINAL POST

    Just thought I might add an update for HD/1080p/blu-ray support. The graphics card list doesnt

    distinguish which cards are not suited to blu-ray & the newer hardware-encoding cards. Also, the

    PSU information needs to be linked to the choice of GPU, which is an important factor to consider

    when selecting power rating and # of 12volt rails.

    "Tests at www.silentpcreview.com shows that even the most power-thirsty systems doesnt

    consume more than 200W at full load" - some low-end HTPC GPUs now need at least 350 watts

    - 512meg ram not relevant if running vista
    - max 300gb hard drives (?)
    - dx 9 graphics cards ; only really relevant for for xp
    - dual or single core omits current processor technology

    -------

    Blu-Ray hardware Requirements
    http://www.cyberlink.com/stat/bd-support/enu/system-requirement.jsp

    (jist of the article)
    CPU - 3ghz single core or faster
    Video ram - 256 meg or more
    System ram - 1gb or more
    Video card-
    Nvidia - 7600gt or higher
    ATI - HD 2400 or higher

    INTEGRATED

    Given recent advances in integrated graphics, this means the Nvidia 8200/8300/9300/9400 integrated

    chipset motherboards are looking like a good prospect for blu-ray. 790 gx may also be worth

    looking at.

    Arguably a 780g integrated will do it, but re MP use, I would suggest a scan through here
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/htpc-projects-42/migration-amd-690g-780g-40706/
    if considering one

    On the 9300/9400, this ASUS motherboard (ASUS P5N7A-VM ) recently got an excellent wrap for HTPC use on Extremetech
    http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2845,2333126,00.asp

    ATI and NVIDIA SYSTEMS

    ATI

    ATI offer a system called Unified Video Decoder (UVD) which is designed to take the load off CPU

    when playing back High-Def Video. Its incorporated into:

    HD2000 series
    HD3000 series
    HD4000 series

    **only the HD4000 series has UVD2, which takes full advantage of Blu-ray functionality with dual-

    stream, picture in picture (PIP) capabilities, including full decode of VC-1, H.264 and MPEG-2

    NVIDIA

    Nvidias on-board GPU decoding technologu is PurevideoHD, which is available on

    8000 series
    9000 series
    GTX series (260, 280, ***)

    **only the 9000 and GTX series support full decode of VC-1

    more here, including Intel decoding technology :
    http://nwgat.wordpress.com/2008/11/29/video-cards-for-hardware-decoding-of-blu-ray-disc/

    and here
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...basic-overview-gpu-hd-video-processing-48888/

    Theres an really good article at TomsHardware.com that compares NVIDIA vs ATI HD on HD Decoding

    Compares:
    780G (integrated)
    8200 (integrated)
    HD2400 (discrete)
    8400GS (discrete)

    And throws into the mix [single core 3.2ghz /vs/ dual core x2 5400]

    RESULT:
    in their test the single-core cpu was not up to the task
    See the article for the lowdown on integrated vs discrete on ati/nvidia

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/graphics-blu-ray-video,2030.html

    ------------------------

    CONCLUSION
    Nvidia 9400/9500GT or ATI 4550/4650 is probably the best way to go as an 'ideal' HTPC card for Blu-Ray playback on a machine not intended to be used for gaming.

    NOTE:
    CyberLink BD Advisor is a downloadable application which will scan existing hardware and notify of any upgrade requirements for blu-ray support
    http://www.cyberlink.com/prog/bd-support/diagnosis.do

    -- does not provide 'degrees' of viability - just a pass/fail output on a number of specific criteria
     
  8. dlisalde

    dlisalde Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Nurse
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    One qestion:

    Is conceptronic remote control MCE compatible with mediaportal?

    I know that conceptronic use ehome driver but i don't know if this remote is compatible with MP
     
  9. poppabk

    poppabk Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 8, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Just wanted to add that more RAM can be useful if you want to make a ramdisk for timeshifting, which will eliminate the HD access while watching TV.
     
  10. Tesla

    Tesla Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 30, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    RAM for Initial Build

    So, with this setup, is 1gb fine, or would performance increase with more?

    The docs say MP v1.0 needs 1gb, but I don't know if that is plenty or not.

    HP Pavilion a320n (AMD Athlon 2800+ 2.08Ghz), 1024MB
    ATI 9600xt AGP 128mb
    Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 - 1183 - MCE Remote and eHome USB IR Receiver/Blaster
    ChainTech AV-710 PCI Audio (VIA Envy24-HTS based with optical S/PDIF)

    WinXP MCE2005 with SP2 on C:,
    Envy24 5.40a, ATI Catalyst 8.12, ATI-CyberLink DVD Decoder
    RAdmin2, Acronis10, Criticals, DotNet 1.0, 1.1, 2.0.
    MCE2005 Update Rollup-2, WMP 11, WinTV 6.x (CD4.6a), TitanTV
    MediaPortal 1.0, mc2xml (TVGuide), S-Video Capture
    - Followed Goose's Codec Install Guide -
    ffdshow_beta6_rev2527_20081219.exe (Generic Stable)
    Haali Media Splitter v1.9.42.1 (01-2009)
    QT Lite and Real Alternative Lite
    VSFilter (Direct VobSub)

    Nothing is running in the Windows background (like Windows Defender or Anti-Virus). With this old second-hand PC, I'm trying to squeeze out as much power as I can. I'm not going to do BluRay ... just DVD and MPEG2, XVid ... stuff like that, usually from the hard-drive.
     
  11. etheesdad
    • Premium Supporter

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    I ran MP on a 2.4ghz p4 with 1gb in XP and it was great. No problems at all for sd playback (no good for hd).
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!