Has anyone ever seen a multichannel-audio icon for TV? | Page 2

Discussion in 'Watch / Listen Media' started by CyberSimian, December 10, 2018.

  1. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +985 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have traced this problem to the power supply. The existing one still works partly. There is a yellow LED on the motherboard that illuminates, and I tried the trick of unplugging the 24-pin connector and connecting the pin with the green cable to a pin with a black cable, which simulates "power on". The fans immediately started at full speed, and blew dust everywhere. :oops: But I guess that one or more of the low-voltage lines no longer works. :(

    I happened to have a new power supply that I was intending to use for another project, so I have connected it temporarily, and the HTPC powers-up without problem. :) Unfortunately, I had removed the hard disks to copy some of the files elsewhere, and my capture disk seems to have developed the "click of death". :cry:

    I looked on Ebay for replacement power supplies for the Dell XPS 420. There were several available from Germany for a very reasonable £300 each :eek:, plus one available from France for a more reasonable £66. But these are pre-loved units, and the power supply is one component that I think has a limited lifetime, so I will probably buy a new unit. The Dell power supply is near-enough compatible with standard ATX units for a standard one to fit.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK


     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Re. the channel counts on recorded TV - I think the MP1 player(s) run Mediainfo on the files (when you play them) to find out their characteristics. Since TV recordings normally have pre-padding, effectively that means you get the audio channel count for the padding part, not the main part of the programme. In my experience, the audio in the adverts and continuity sections between programmes is normally stereo, so that's what gets displayed in MP (and the audio info isn't updated 'live' as it plays).

    If you're interested, the TsReader.log does log audio channel counts dynamically - just search it for 'channels =' text.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +985 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It just occurred to me that when the MP client or TV Server generates the thumbnail for a recording or a video, MP allows the user to specify the offset from the start of the programme where the thumbnail is taken. Since I use one minute of pre-padding, and TV programmes in the UK often start one to two minutes late, I have this offset set to "5 minutes" (in "MP Config" or "TV Server Config" -- I cannot remember which). That usually ensures that the thumbnail is taken from the programme recorded, and not from a preceding advertisement or trailer for a forthcoming programme.

    Would it not make sense to take the AV properties of the file from the same offset? For audio, these properties might be the audio encoding and the number of audio channels. For video, these properties might be the aspect ratio and colour/monochrome. All of these properties could vary from one programme to the next on the same channel. Perhaps MediaInfo allows an offset to be specified when determining the file's properties?

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +985 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I am pleased to report that my HTPC is now working again. :)

    I decided to continue using the new power supply that I already had, even though it does not fit in the BTX-standard case. It is a completely fanless power supply, and requires cooling by convection, but the BTX case would obstruct the ventilation grill in the top of the power supply. So I have placed the power supply on top of the case (most of the cables are long enough to reach the connectors inside the case).

    Another piece of good news is that my capture disk does not have the click of death. :) I had connected two of the HTPC disks to a SATA-to-USB adapter, in order to copy some files elsewhere. The 5400rpm Western Digital Green drive worked fine, but the Seagate 7200rpm disk gave the click of death. I now realise that this was because the SATA-to-USB adapter cannot provide enough power to operate the Seagate disk correctly. Placed back in the HTPC, the capture disk works fine -- no error from CHKDSK, and typical values are shown for the SMART info.

    On the other hand, my CD/DVD drive seems to have acquired an intermittent error. Randomly on power up (either a reboot or a wake from hibernation), the CD/DVD drive fails to respond to a query from the BIOS, and so the BIOS pauses and asks the user to press a key. Not very useful if the system was waking to perform an unattended recording. So I have disabled the CD/DVD drive in the BIOS, and will need to get a replacement. :(

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,282
    Likes Received:
    5,005
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,446 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Stay tuned for the next episode of "Nightmare at testers HTPC" starring CyberSimian in the UK :D
    But seriously: Great you managed to re-animate your HTPC to a state where it´s working again ;)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +985 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    This afternoon on "BBC2 HD" there was a movie made in 2014 with several big-name stars, so I thought that there was a good chance that it would be broadcast with multichannel audio (where "multi" means "bigger than two"). I scheduled a manual recording for 30 minutes, starting well after the movie had already begun. Also, BBC2 does not broadcast advertisements, so I was sure to record part of the movie, and not the pre-padding, programme trailers, or advertisements.

    I checked my Sony TV, and it displayed "HE-AAC 3/2.1" for this movie. This is what "MediaInfo" shows for the recording in the MP log:

    Code (Text):
    1. MediaInfoWrapper: Opening file : E:\Older TV\Test Files\Into the Woods (BBC2 HD) 2019-01-04 15.20.00.ts
    2. MediaInfoWrapper: DLL Version      : MediaInfoLib - v0.7.95
    3. MediaInfoWrapper: Inspecting media : E:\Older TV\Test Files\Into the Woods (BBC2 HD) 2019-01-04 15.20.00.ts
    4. MediaInfoWrapper: Parse speed      : 0.3
    5. MediaInfoWrapper: FrameRate        : 25
    6. MediaInfoWrapper: Width            : 1920
    7. MediaInfoWrapper: Height           : 1080
    8. MediaInfoWrapper: AspectRatio      : widescreen
    9. MediaInfoWrapper: VideoCodec       : AVC [ "avc.png" ]
    10. MediaInfoWrapper: Scan type        : progressive
    11. MediaInfoWrapper: IsInterlaced     : False
    12. MediaInfoWrapper: VideoResolution  : 1080P
    13. MediaInfoWrapper: VideoDuration    : 2157720
    14. MediaInfoWrapper: AudioRate        : 48000
    15. MediaInfoWrapper: AudioChannels    : 6 [ "5.1.png" ]
    16. MediaInfoWrapper: AudioCodec       : AAC LC [ "aac lc.png" ]
    17. MediaInfoWrapper: HasAudio         : True
    18. MediaInfoWrapper: HasVideo         : True
    19. MediaInfoWrapper: HasSubtitles     : True
    20. MediaInfoWrapper: NumSubtitles     : 1
    21. MediaInfoWrapper: Closing file : E:\Older TV\Test Files\Into the Woods (BBC2 HD) 2019-01-04 15.20.00.ts

    You can see from this that the number of audio channels was indeed greather than two. :) I moved the recording to my "Videos" folder, and displayed it using my "ClassicWide" skin; this is what appeared:

    recorded_tv_with_5.1_audio.jpg

    So MP will display the appropriate multichannel audio icon (at least, in "Videos") if the circumstances are favourable. I suspect that the reason the multichannel icon is not usually seen for recorded TV is the reason suggested by @Owlsroost . "MediaInfo" needs to be pursuaded to look at a non-zero offset from the start of a recording in order to determine the properties of the file.

    The "Recorded TV" panel does not show the media icons, so I don't know whether the relevant skin variable is defined there (would need to check). And of course for live TV it would be really useful for the audio-channels property to be defined as a continuously-updated skin variable so that the appropriate icon could be displayed in the OSD. :D

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 3
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!