HDPVR2 Dish Network MediaPortal and Me

Discussion in 'General Support' started by joeb1990, August 21, 2013.

  1. joeb1990

    joeb1990 New Member

    Joined:
    August 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Ever since my family upgraded to HD dish I've been trying to get our media PC to record the playback. I am currently just completely stuck and in over my head looking for help. I've downloaded Media Portal and tried going through the setup but hit my first snag when trying to scan for channels. The United States is not in the country list. When I open the program I get no free card available. With this I don't know where to start.

    I have all drivers and windows up to date. I have the Dish going out to the HDPVR2 with HDMI. The computer going to the Television via HDMI and have the computer and HDPVR2 hooked up via USB 2.0



    Any help or guides for this combination would be appreciated because I can honestly not figure you how to get this setup after a lot of searching and various programs. Thanks for the help. Let me know what you need from me.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome :)

    So first question: are you really dealing with an HD-PVR 2? My understanding is that the new HD-PVR (ie. the one released early this year) is not yet supported in MediaPortal. I could be wrong, and even if I am not wrong it hopefully shouldn't be hard to add support... so I'd love to work with you to get it working.

    Two things:
    1. Please grab a screenshot of -->this<-- section of TV Server configuration. In other words, I want to see your tuner list.
    2. I need to see some technical detail about the HD-PVR 2. This is a bit more complex but here are the instructions:
    • 1. Download and run GraphSudio from here:
      http://blog.monogram.sk/janos/2009/06/14/monogram-graphstudio-0320/
      You want the 32 bit one.
      No install required - just run it.
    • In the top menu click "graph", then select "insert filter...".
    • You'll see two fields at the top of the new window. In the first, select "WDM Streaming Crossbar Devices", and in the second select "All Filters".
    • Please repeat for each device in the list: select, then click "insert".
    • Hit escape or click the X in the top right corner to close the insert window.
    • In the top menu click "graph", then select "make screenshot".
    Please post/attach both screenshots here and we'll go from there. :)

    mm
     
  4. joeb1990

    joeb1990 New Member

    Joined:
    August 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I'm confident based on pictures that I am using an HD PVR 2 (Gaming Edition) Here are the two pictures. Not sure if the graph is right :/ let me know and Ill do it again
     

    Attached Files:

    • Graph.png
      Graph.png
      File size:
      6.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 21, 2013
      Views:
      334
    • Screen1.png
      Screen1.png
      File size:
      1 MB
      Uploaded:
      August 21, 2013
      Views:
      322
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The pictures are perfect - thanks! (y)
    At this point I can indeed confirm that MP currently doesn't support the HD-PVR 2... but if you can give me a few hours to get home (I'm at work at the moment) I'll provide a patch that will add support. Then we can move forward from there... :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. joeb1990

    joeb1990 New Member

    Joined:
    August 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I thought I saw on your wiki that this fell under your supported but I guess I just saw the HD PVR. Either way its late where I am so take your time. I'll touch base tomorrow. Thanks a lot for your help!
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yeah, we support the HD-PVR v1 and the Colossus... but I'm hoping the HD-PVR 2 is similar enough that it will "just work" once I make a few small changes. :)
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Right, here is the promised patch. :)
    To use it:
    1. Install MP 1.5 pre release.
    2. Open TV Server configuration.
    3. Go to the "manual control" section and click "stop service".
    4. Close TV Server configuration.
    5. Take a backup of the TVLibrary.dll and TvLibrary.Interfaces.dll in your TV Server install folder (typically c:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server).
    6. Download and extract the attached DLLs into your TV Server install folder.
    7. Open TV Server configuration (click "yes" to start the service).
    8. Go to the tuner list, and you should now see a "Hauppauge Siena Crossbar" tuner with type "analog".
    9. Go to the scan section for this Siena crossbar and click "add s-video channels".
    10. Go to the "TV Channels" section.
    Hopefully at this point you now see one channel per video input on the HD-PVR. That would be one HDMI, one component (YrYbY), one s-video and one composite (CVBS).
    Please confirm you can get that far...
     

    Attached Files:

    • TVLibrary.zip
      File size:
      238.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 21, 2013
      Views:
      372
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello again joeb1990

    I don't mean to hassle, but I'm really curious about whether the patch worked or not. :)
    Looks like the patch has been downloaded 4 times at this stage. I'm not sure if that is only you or whether other people are trying the patch too. Basically feedback from anybody who has tried the patch would be really welcome. Unfortunately without feedback the patch won't make it into official releases, so it is really important that you let us know if the patch works. :)

    mm
     
  10. jaysbro

    jaysbro New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    The patched worked great. I was able to add the tuner per your instructions (capturing component video and digital audio) and then add the channel list through the Schedules Direct Plugin. I am doing IR blasting through the HDPVR2 to a Set-top box with the Serverblaster plugin. All seems to be working fine. thank you for your help.:)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. Cpoc

    Cpoc Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I can second that the patch also works. You must map all the channels and edit them one by one in the crossbar settings and change the capture to s-video #1 to hdmi #1 and sound automatic. I hope this patch makes it to 1.5 final as experimental support.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!