How fast CPU for server and client HTPC? | Page 2

Discussion in 'General Support' started by marttoma, August 16, 2015.

  1. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Two MP1 clients are watching FTA HD channel.

    j1900_hd2.PNG



    Transcoding HD channel to aMPdroid with Android HD profile results 100% CPU usage. Using HQ profile results 70% CPU usage.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. marttoma
    • Premium Supporter

    marttoma MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Praha
    Ratings:
    +69 / 6
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hi HTPCSourcer,

    is this valid for AMD CPUs with IGP as well the sentence about "Modern CPUs (e.g. Intel with in-built GPUs) can stream DVB-S signals without significant CPU load"? Is there any special setting to use IGP instead of CPU for TV streaming to MP clients?

    I am planing to use same HW for TV Server and NAS (to integrate both in one PC), which make sence I think due to fact the TV server can have fast access to the NAS data like films, videos etc. Anyway the point about LAN and aynchronic medium is veru good as I did not think about the LAN utilized by TV streaming and NAS data together - is this your point, right? Anyway in your case with RamDisk, why do you thing RamDisk can improve TV streaming performance if the NAS data and TV streaming has to share same LAN? I did not catch this.

    Regarding to the 2core and 4 core CPUs, I would have simple question, which CPU is better for TV Server + NAS:
    • 2 core CPU with let say CPU benchmark ~1500
    • 4 core CPU with same CPU benchmark as 2 core CPU

    Regarding to the 2core and 4 core CPUs, I would have simple question, which CPU is better fMP client:
    • 2 core CPU with let say CPU benchmark ~1500
    • 4 core CPU with same CPU benchmark as 2 core CPU
    What do you think?

    Best regards,
    marttoma[DOUBLEPOST=1440449213][/DOUBLEPOST]Hi regeszter,

    Thanks fro clear pictures. I would have same question to you:

    Regarding to the 2core and 4 core CPUs, I would have simple question, which CPU is better for TV Server + NAS:
    • 2 core CPU with let say CPU benchmark ~1500
    • 4 core CPU with same CPU benchmark as 2 core CPU

    Regarding to the 2core and 4 core CPUs, I would have simple question, which CPU is better fMP client:
    • 2 core CPU with let say CPU benchmark ~1500
    • 4 core CPU with same CPU benchmark as 2 core CPU
    BTW I have one MP client with J1900 CPU with active cooling and it running quite well, just I have Wifi not so fast, which connects it to the SingleSeat MP configuration, it has SSD inside. Now I am thinking to built up new MP client and question is what is better if 2core or 4core CPU, if both have same CPU benchmark - in case of 2 core just one core I think is stronger then in case of 4 cores..., anyway it is also question if the MP will be faster with Titan skin or now...

    What do you think?

    Best regards,
    marttoma
     
  4. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    I think 4 cores are better because the tvservice, mysql, ffmpeg, and the NAS function run on the TvServer.

    I think both of them ok, because the main work is on the IGP if it supports h264 decoding/deinterlaceing.

    1. Start taskmanager (cpu performance view) and let run it on the desktop
    2. Start MP and use it (start TV or video, navigate in the GUI)
    3. Close MP and check the taskmanager. If you see high cpu usage than the better CPU will results better MP performance.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,745
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Not much to add to the above (y)

    MP is writing timeshift files on a disk. these files are then read by the client. Both writing and reading is time-sensitive and anything interfering with this process can cause stuttering and other unpleasant things. The server hardware has no means of distinguishing if a hard disk operation is for TV or any other read/write process. That said, if parallel activities with significant disk loads are taking place, e.g. client backup activities, the timeshift file read/write process can be delayed, which will prompt Live TV to be interrupted (like being paused).

    Because of this timshift files should at minimum be placed on a separate drive, for which the easiest solutuion is to use a RamDisk.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. marttoma
    • Premium Supporter

    marttoma MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Praha
    Ratings:
    +69 / 6
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hello HTPCSourcer,

    Let me clarify here one point, not clear to me: does it mean that TV Server is not streaming "live TV" if you said timeshift files are read by the client? In this case I think I dont need any strong HW for TV Server if the HW is used only for TV Server, as was already mentioned above.

    Best regards,
    marttoma
     
  7. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    How can MP1 client access the TvServer?
    1. Using UNC path
    2. Using RTSP (stream)
    Neither of them use much CPU on TvServer.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    How can MP1 client access the TvServer?
    1. Using UNC path
    2. Using RTSP (stream)
    Neither of them use much CPU on TvServer.

    One thing requires much CPU power. Transcoding the stream to Android or IOS client.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,745
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Adding to the above: even in case of RTSP streams, the timeshift file is written (and time-sensitive).
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    ...and for completeness...
    If you use an analog tuner that doesn't have hardware encoders, the CPU must be used for encoding the video and audio to MPEG 2 in real time.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. marttoma
    • Premium Supporter

    marttoma MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Praha
    Ratings:
    +69 / 6
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Thank you.
    Which option do you recommend, or what are advantages of UNC and RTSP?
    Why the transcoding the stream to Andriod or IOS clinets requires much CPU? Andriod or IOS clients cant read ts files?

    OK, I see. Thank you.

    OK, I see, thank you.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!