How to get Medion (x10) remote working | Page 2

Discussion in 'Input/Output Interfaces' started by CypherMK, March 19, 2013.

  1. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    so you can't install drivers?
    or you can, but it doesn't react to your remote?
    maybe batteries in your remote are empty?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    The problem is, that I have a 'unknown device' in device manager. And that device is the receiver. But I can't install any driver. Or if I install a driver, it stays an 'unknown device'.
     
  4. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    then i guess your receiver is broken. try to connect it to other PC and check.
     
  5. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I hope not. It was working on an old xp machine, before I got it out.

    But I will try it on my server first when I have time.
     
  6. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I tried to install the receiver on my server, but sadly got the exact same problem.

    Leaves 2 options. It is broken or it will never work on windows 7.

    will test it again on the old xp machine
     
  7. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    have you checked that pinout for internal USB connectors are exact the same on old XP PC and on W7 PC? there is no standard for internal USB connectors...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Lightning303
    • Premium Supporter

    Lightning303 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 12, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +578 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    As it does work on Win7 x64 for me, i would say, either your receiver is broken, or there is a connection problem like Vasilich suggests.
     
  9. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I tried installing the receiver on the old XP machine again, and there it worked as expected.

    How can I check if the pinout is the same? In the old XP machine the connector isn't directly connected to the motherboard (see picture 2013-03-21 16.32.45.jpg and 2013-03-21 16.36.33.jpg). I made some pictures of the machine and of device manager.

    Does this make any sense?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: March 21, 2013
  10. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I also extracted the. sys file in the first picture. Maybe I can install it somehow?
     
  11. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I noticed that my usb connector has a red green white black. But when I Google search for internal usb I get red white green black layout. So I guess I have to change it!

    I will try a soon as possible. This could be it.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!