Hulu Desktop (1 Viewer)

chesh

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 5, 2009
    Spokane, WA
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    OMG OMG OMG OMG!! Hulu has come out with Hulu desktop. Combine this with the shortcut plugin and you've got yourself Hulu integrated with MP! I know it's not a completely integrated solution, but Hulu was nice enough to add in remote control functionality too, so it's getting that much closer! Anyway, here's the link to anyone that's interested: Hulu-Desktop

BobMysterios

Portal Member
    December 13, 2007
    Are you MyPrograms to launch Hulu Desktop? I'm new to MyPrograms but not new to MP - and when I use the plugin it waits a full 60 seconds (it seems) to start. Hulu Desktop starts immediately when clicked from the desktop shortcut.

If you're not using MyPrograms what shortcut program are you using?

Thanks!

chesh

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 5, 2009
    Spokane, WA
    Home Country
    I'm actually using MultiShortcut. You can find it here: MultiShortcut. If ya need a screenshot for the settings, just let me know.

ixian

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 14, 2007
    Home Country
    I'd appreciate a screenshot, might save some trouble down the line.

I too am very, very happy they did this. From what little I've played with it on my desktop at the office, it appears almost custom made for HTPC use - I love how they describe it almost with a wink and a nod as a "lean back" experience for PC viewing. Like they don't know perfectly well that HTPC hobbiest are going to integrate this for TV viewing.

In fact I am a little astonished they did this given that they pulled Boxee support a couple months back - I guess they are perfectly ok with a relatively small number of home-brew HTPC using it on a TV, but sanctioned support from an all-in-one newbie friendly media front end like Boxee is a no go.