1.3.x - I have played a little with Titan and default skin ...

Discussion in 'Default Skins Feedback' started by megahorst, December 15, 2012.

  1. megahorst
    • Super User

    megahorst Super User

    Joined:
    July 8, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    173
    Ratings:
    +272 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I don´t want to talk about what is better
    But I have to tell that default has some advantages in usability
    Basic home and epg for example are "clearer" and focus is not distracted by so much optical information.
    I like this very much.
    Where I'm missing this clearness is the actual music playing screen. There are so many items everywhere on the screen. Perhaps you should think about making some infos optional and group them on the button of the screen. This would lead the focus to the fanart background.



    And of course: Thx for your work and spending your time for the community.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I actually agree - I find Titan a little too 'colourful', and the 'thin' fonts can be hard to read sometimes, and I prefer simple, clean skins with subdued colours anyway :) .

    A couple of usability issues I've noticed with Default Wide:

    1. There is no info bar shown when using skip-steps (left/right arrows) - this is really important, because without this you have no way of knowing where you are (in time) in a video. There is an info bar shown when using fast-forward/rewind, so it's also inconsistent. Also, if you use big skip steps (up/down arrow keys), it just shows the grey box overlay without the skip step size....

    2. When hitting 'enter' in the TV guide to set up a recording, the next screen has the recording options popup menu shown, but this covers part of the program list - so if there are several possible times/channels in the list you can't check if you have selected the correct one (basically the program list needs to move to the right so it's fully visible in this situation, I think).

    Otherwise I think the new Default Wide looks pretty good (although the backdrop to the classic home screen - the 'DVD boxes' - seems out of character with the style of the other backdrops). Good work @catavolt (y)

    Tony
     
    Last edited: December 15, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  4. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,258
    Likes Received:
    4,995
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    During test phase some team members wanted to not show the progress bar...
    Issue in skin engine - that value simply isn´t available.
    .
    This would lead to extensive skin or even skin engine changes, because that menu is used in different cases and is therefore displayed in the middle of the screen.
    Awaiting your proposals, Tony (best with uploading the backdrop file here) ;)
     
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I hadn't noticed that - otherwise I would have commented before ;). I'm not the only one to have commented on this - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/1-3-0beta-ready-for-testing.114353/page-11#post-940489 . Is there an easy way to modify an xml file to get this back - at the moment I'm having to use Titan just to get the progress bar for skip steps (and I'd prefer to use Default Wide because I think the usability is better).

    I suspected that was the case, but what it's doing at the moment looks a bit silly - I think it should either show the progress bar or nothing at all in the 'big skip step' situation.

    But it worked OK in the old MP 1.3.0 alpha version (and earlier), so what's changed ?

    Can I edit an xml to move the popup menu over to the right side of the screen instead (so it doesn't cover the date/time/channel information part of the listing) ?

    Actually, I prefer subdued, non-pictorial backdrops anyway (I quite like the gearwheels backdrop) - but I know this is very much a personal preference issue....:)

    Tony
     
  6. SciDoctor
    • Premium Supporter

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    The new default skins are very,very good apart from the 'no progresss info bar when skip/jump'; whomever asked for this to be dropped needs their medication increased.

    The Default wide EPG 11 lines is a masterpiece and makes the 7 line Titan EPG look c--p.

    If we could have the best from Titan and Default in one skin that would be a mighty fine skin.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  7. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,258
    Likes Received:
    4,995
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I´ll add the progress bar back soon ;)
     
    • Like Like x 5
  8. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,258
    Likes Received:
    4,995
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Something to play with :p
    Pls note that the TV implementation is not good atm - needs some more adjustment, but as a hotfix sufficient enough ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  9. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,258
    Likes Received:
    4,995
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Screenshot? Which search results?
     
  10. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    1.3 is a beta release, and is not for daily use, expect to have bugs and problems, it is for testing purposes and also gives people a chance to try out new features that are not available in the official stable release.
     
    Last edited: December 15, 2012
  11. SciDoctor
    • Premium Supporter

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the quick response, Progress Bar works great.

    For those using the excellent 'Xmas theme' in default wide and miss the 11 line EPG just copy over the 'mytvguide.xml' from the 11 line theme into the xmas theme and restart MP.

    Let it Snow !
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!