Improving my TV Out (2 Viewers)

bwzuk

Portal Member
January 9, 2005
I've been using MediaPortal for several months now, but I've always been unhappy with the TV Out from my onboard Nvidia Geforce4 MX. I've spent ages fiddling with the display settings, but the bright colours always appear oversaturated, while the dark colours are always washed out. I'm considering getting a new graphics card, but since I've got a small Shuttle case I'm also interested in hearing about people's experiences with external TV converters. Anyone have any suggestions for getting a decent picture quality? Preferably something I can purchase in the UK easily.

Sleeperservice

June 12, 2004
An Insignificant Planet
I upgraded my graphics card to an Nvidia FX5200 (from an old GF2) and I couldn't be happier. I use the s-video output and the picture quality is great. I chose the FX5200 because you can get it with a passive heatsink (ie no noise and not too much heat). The only downside is games (performance is not too good) but I only watch TV & DVDs...

A

Anonymous

I'm also about to replace my GeForce4MX for the same reasons - did you get a new card - and was there an improvment in the colour reproduction?

Callifo

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 7, 2004
    Adelaide, Australia
    Home Country
    If your going to get a new card have a look at the Nvidia 6200. Its a bit more than a 5200 but it comes with component out. Itll be about as good as it gets. Going from Svideo -> Component is huge, its even possible to read internet webpages on the tv now. Colours are as washed out now either.

SiLenTYL

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 23, 2004
    Melbourne
    Home Country
    Australia Australia
    i have a 6600 and i thought....WOW...Component..the answer to my prayers...however....