Initial impressions & rant from a faithful XBMC User (1 Viewer)

SandmanCL

June 18, 2006
- finally, XBMC for the PC !
- why can't I just put in my zip code and cable provider somewhere and have the tv guide automagically appear ? If it's there it must be well hidden
- damn, this is slow
- either something is seriously wrong with this setup, or I *really* need to upgrade this PC.

I've been using XBMC for two years now and love it. A large percentage of the people who come visit me end up with their own xbox within weeks of their visit :)

But, the xbox will always (?) lack tv tuner functionality, so I decided to buy a tv tuner card and check out Media Portal. The computer I installed this on is pretty low-key:

1.6GHz P4 (non-HT)
512MB 333 Mhz ram
Integrated video card w/ shared ram (currently at 64MB I believe)
100 GB 7200 rpm WD Caviar
Hauppage PVR150 tuner card

The card works fine and watching tv is acceptable through WinTV, but everything I try to do through MP it is sloooow. Changing channels takes 3-4 seconds, and even switching back and forth
between menus make me feel like I'm running this in on ald 486.

Am I out of luck with this PC or are there success stories with setups similar to mine ?

Efros

Portal Pro
January 23, 2006
Maine
Home Country
England England
1.6GHz P4 (non-HT) oooer!

Integrated video card w/ shared ram ooooooer!

You are almost at the lowest requirements in both these areas, 1.4 GHz and 64Mb VGA card, does your card have directx 9 support? Improve those then see what happens.

tomtom21000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 22, 2004
    Germany
    the processor and memeory will do. get yourself a cheap DX9 (hardware) capable Graphic card. this will speed things up very much.

tomtom

gxtracker

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • July 25, 2005
    Home Country
    Canada Canada