Intermittent 'Unknown Error' when tuning to a channel (logs attached)

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by eetaylog, June 19, 2016.

  1. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Could someone please take a quick look at my logs to see if there are any clues as to why im getting an 'unknown error' popup when trying to turn on tv channels via my epg. My living room client connects to my tv server (in the garage over cat5e cable), so i can see my epg, but when i try to start up a channel i sometimes get the above error.

    My server is running MP1.14 and my client is running MP1.13 on win10. My TV card is a Hauppauge T-500.



    TIA

    *Edit* I have now updated my client to 1.14 so both client and server are running the same version of MP but I'm still getting the same error...
     
    Last edited: June 19, 2016
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi

    Please supply the TV Server log files. This appears to be a server-side issue, so it's not possible to determine what's wrong with only the client-side log files.
     
  4. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    My mistake, ill add it tonight
     
  5. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Ive attached the TV Server logs now. I just attempted another startup of various TV channels (logged at 16:56 on 20/6/2016) but am getting the same 'unknown error' popup.

    Ive taken a quick look in the logs and it appears to be a timeshifting startup issue but any pointers would be appreciated.

    TIA:)
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The unknown error stems from this:
    [2016-06-20 16:57:14,615] [Log ] [26 ] [INFO ] - dvb: RunGraph returns: 0x8007001F

    That comes direct from the tuner driver.

    Essentially what's happening is the following...
    • you attempt to tune a channel
    • TV Server recognises both tuners are free
    • TV Server tunes with the first tuner, but receives the above error when asking the tuner to start the stream
    • TV Server tries again with the second tuner, and hits the same error
    • TV Server gives up and reports the problem to you as "unknown error"
    It's "unknown error" because the error code - 0x8007001F - supplied by the tuner driver simply means "general failure" (ERROR_GEN_FAILURE). It's totally unhelpful, and hence TV Server cannot provide a more useful error message.

    Actually the thing that interests me the most in your log files is what happened on the evening of the 19th.

    You had a failed attempt to tune BBC FOUR (both tuners fail):
    [2016-06-19 21:55:06,179] [Log ] [23 ] [INFO ] - card: Tune on card 3 to subchannel BBC FOUR
    [2016-06-19 21:55:06,179] [Log ] [23 ] [DEBUG] - card: user: LivingRoomHTPC:3:-1 tune DVBT:tv: BBC FOUR Freq:498000 ONID:9018 TSID:4163 SID:4544 PMT:0x190 FTA:True LCN:9 BandWidth:8
    [2016-06-19 21:55:06,434] [Log ] [23 ] [INFO ] - dvb: RunGraph returns: 0x8007001F
    [2016-06-19 21:55:06,497] [Log ] [23 ] [INFO ] - card: Tune on card 4 to subchannel BBC FOUR
    [2016-06-19 21:55:06,497] [Log ] [23 ] [DEBUG] - card: user: LivingRoomHTPC:4:-1 tune DVBT:tv: BBC FOUR Freq:498000 ONID:9018 TSID:4163 SID:4544 PMT:0x190 FTA:True LCN:9 BandWidth:8
    [2016-06-19 21:55:06,747] [Log ] [23 ] [INFO ] - dvb: RunGraph returns: 0x8007001F

    Approximately half an hour later, without any TV Server activity (restarting, tuner reloading etc. - nothing, zero, zilch, nada!) you're suddenly able to tune Channel 4+1, BBC ONE and ITV2:
    [2016-06-19 22:29:30,553] [Log ] [5 ] [INFO ] - card: Tune on card 3 to subchannel Channel 4+1
    [2016-06-19 22:29:30,553] [Log ] [5 ] [DEBUG] - card: user: LivingRoomHTPC:3:-1 tune DVBT:tv: Channel 4+1 Freq:522000 ONID:9018 TSID:8206 SID:8452 PMT:0x4B0 FTA:True LCN:13 BandWidth:8
    [2016-06-19 22:29:30,600] [Log ] [5 ] [INFO ] - dvb: RunGraph
    [2016-06-19 22:29:33,446] [Log ] [5 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal ok

    [2016-06-19 22:29:45,028] [Log ] [5 ] [INFO ] - card: Tune on card 3 to subchannel BBC ONE South
    [2016-06-19 22:29:45,028] [Log ] [5 ] [DEBUG] - card: user: LivingRoomHTPC:3:0 tune DVBT:tv: BBC ONE South Freq:498000 ONID:9018 TSID:4163 SID:4163 PMT:0x64 FTA:True LCN:1 BandWidth:8
    [2016-06-19 22:29:45,439] [Log ] [5 ] [INFO ] - RunGraph
    [2016-06-19 22:29:45,454] [Log ] [5 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal ok

    [2016-06-19 22:30:27,554] [Log ] [26 ] [INFO ] - card: Tune on card 3 to subchannel ITV2
    [2016-06-19 22:30:27,554] [Log ] [26 ] [DEBUG] - card: user: LivingRoomHTPC:3:0 tune DVBT:tv: ITV2 Freq:522000 ONID:9018 TSID:8206 SID:8325 PMT:0x708 FTA:True LCN:6 BandWidth:8
    [2016-06-19 22:30:27,946] [Log ] [26 ] [INFO ] - RunGraph
    [2016-06-19 22:30:27,979] [Log ] [26 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal ok

    You stop time-shifting:
    [2016-06-19 22:32:05,075] [Log ] [26 ] [INFO ] - card Nova-DT DVB-T Tuner (Dev1 Path0) : StopTimeShifting user:LivingRoomHTPC sub:0

    Not 30 seconds later, you try to start viewing ITV2 again:
    [2016-06-19 22:32:23,347] [Log ] [33 ] [INFO ] - card: Tune on card 3 to subchannel ITV2
    [2016-06-19 22:32:23,347] [Log ] [33 ] [DEBUG] - card: user: LivingRoomHTPC:3:-1 tune DVBT:tv: ITV2 Freq:522000 ONID:9018 TSID:8206 SID:8325 PMT:0x708 FTA:True LCN:6 BandWidth:8
    [2016-06-19 22:32:23,591] [Log ] [33 ] [INFO ] - dvb: RunGraph returns: 0x8007001F

    ...and the error is back! :eek:
    ...and that error continues through the rest of the log file. There are no other successful tune attempts.

    This is not typical of the NOVA-T-500-specific problems I've seen before. This looks more like problems where people have another program running that uses their tuners, and they don't realise that the other program is blocking TV Server from using the tuners.

    Can you confirm you don't have any other software that uses the tuners?
     
  7. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Ah, I think that may be because I have another instance of MP client set up on my server which i use as a test bench (my home set up is as follows).

    [​IMG]

    I would have been using both the Server and LivingRoomHTPC clients to test tv server that evening, though its strange that i see no attempts at starting timeshifting from user 'Server' in my logs.

    However, your last comment...

    ...is very typical of my problem. If i manually stop/start the tv service in tvserver config then i can start a channel on either client through MP gui. Subsequently stopping the stream in the gui (ie, stopping the timeshift with my remote control) and then re-attempting to start again inside MP gui will usually fail. I can only start up a channel again if i manually stop/start the service inside tv server config.

    I think its the starting of the timeshifting thats causing the problem, In which case i think your analysis of the tuner driver error is correct and its what i was starting to think myself last night when i was playing around with it all.
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hmmm, no I don't think that could be it, because MP (ie. the client) doesn't interact with tuners directly.

    I was thinking of programs that use the tuner. Maybe something that collects EPG (eg. EPG Collector) or an alternative HTPC/tuner software (eg. WinTV, N-PVR, DVBLink, WMC, ARGUS etc.).

    ...whereas I'm starting to doubt my analysis. ;)

    I'm doubting because your log files show TV Server starting up:
    [2016-06-19 20:41:08,673] [Log ] [8 ] [INFO ] - TV Service: Starting

    ...followed by a failed tune request:
    [2016-06-19 20:45:50,167] [Log ] [18 ] [INFO ] - Controller: find free card for channel BBC ONE South
    ...
    [2016-06-19 20:45:51,311] [Log ] [18 ] [INFO ] - dvb: RunGraph returns: 0x8007001F

    Normally the ~5 minute delay there should be more than enough for a driver to initialise. I wouldn't have expected any problems with that tune request, especially if the PC had restarted (ie. full reboot or cold boot, not resume from suspend/sleep/hibernate/S*).


    Am I remembering correctly that you may have said in the other thread that the problem started after updating your motherboard?
    If yes, I wonder if that motherboard update also involved updating or reinstalling either or both of Windows and/or MediaPortal TV Server?
    ...in which case, I'd suggest to try changing the "preferred network provider" setting from "generic" to "DVBT" and/or trying the different values for "when card enters idle state...". I'm referring to the settings here:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...nfiguration/02_TV_Servers#Edit_Tuner_Settings

    After trying the network provider and idle state settings, I'd recommend to try the PS setting with a delay value of at least 60 seconds. If that still doesn't work, devcon may be the only way to go.

    ...but again, I want to emphasize that this is very weird. The symptoms aren't what I expected at all...!
     
  9. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    The only EPG grabber that im aware of on the server is the MP internal one which grabs over the air. I enabled powerscheduler last night, which has its own EPG settings, but again, that was last night and not the 19th when these strange logs appear.

    And yes, ive only had these problems since upgrading my server (a completely new system including mobo, processor, memory etc etc) with a fresh install of MP. The tv card was just installed and win10 went away and found the drivers for it, so its possible its also running off an updated driver. Thanks for the pointers though. Ill try switching network provider and see what happens.
     
  10. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Well, switching provider to DVB-T didnt help unfortunately, but thanks for the suggestion :(.

    I also tried uninstalling the card, moving it to another slot and then reinstalling, but still get the same problem. While reinstalling the drivers however, i noticed that the date on them was 2007, whereas the MP supported tuners wiki says that Hauppauge cards require drivers from here, which seem to be dated 2015. I didnt realise i wasnt running the latest drivers as windows kept telling me there werent newer ones available, so im hoping that updating to these may help.
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    That is just for Hauppauge CableCARD tuners (ie. DCR-2650, DCR-3250). You don't have either of them, so that detail is irrelevant for you.

    Nevertheless, I would recommend you download the latest drivers for your tuner from the support section of Hauppauge's website.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!