internet connection required to install

Discussion in '1.0 final and SVN Builds' started by mrkaras, December 28, 2008.

  1. mrkaras

    mrkaras Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +7 / 3
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    I went to install mediaportal 1.0 a box with no internet connection but I found it can't be done, at one point as far as I can tell the installer attempts to download a list of what parts are required (sql server etc) but when it fails the installer closes! I apreciate that it would obviously no be able to download the componants but I would be able to download them on another PC and transfer them via usb but that would not work.



    TV-Server Version:
    MediaPortal Version: RC1
    MediaPortal Skin: Xface
    Windows Version: Vista ultamate x32
    CPU Type: core 2 duo 2.1
    HDD: western digital 400Gb
    Memory: 1Gb
    Motherboard: Asus P5L-VM 1394
    Video Card: Asus Gforce 6200 LE
    Video Card Driver:
    Sound Card: onboard (ASUS)
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: kworld (currently removed)
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T (PCI)
    1. TV Card Driver: 4.0.108.4
    2. TV Card: ASUS My cinema U3000 Mini
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-T (USB)
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card: DNTV! Live Dual Hybrid PCIe
    3. TV Card Type: twin hybrid
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    h.264 Video Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: thermaltake motzart
    Cooling: CPU fan / passive on other
    Power Supply:
    Remote: iMon
    TV: Samsung LA37R7
    TV - HTPC Connection: VGA, (not DVI->HDMI, mis-led by samsung)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. rekenaar
    • Team MediaPortal

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Hi there

    You should be able to do offline installation.
    Infinityloop explained he whole process in post #9 of this thread.

    HTH
     
  4. mrkaras

    mrkaras Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +7 / 3
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    OK, thanks. a bit complacated. why doesn't it just include a default version of that one XML file. just like windows install, it askes if you want to download updated setup files and can do so if a connection is avalable but it will still install with what it has withoug needing an internet connection. anyway, I don't see any way that the requirements for mediaportal for a preticular version can change after it is built, why is that file being downloaded in the first place it should be built into the installer (not the prerequsite files, just the list XML file)
     
  5. Major_Mess

    Major_Mess Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 18, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    The best way to install is to extract the actual setup files. No need to run the misleading deploy tool to completion if you are an experienced MP RC user. To get the files from the setup archive, run the normal deploy tool. Then in one of your temp directories you will find a folder with the following files, package-mediaportal.exe, package-tvengine.exe, and wmp11-windowsxp-x86-ENU.exe. After finding and copying the files to a new location you can close the deploy tool. You will still need SQL if using the TV server, and all of the required fixes etc. Previously you could ignore the required windows updates and hotfixes posted on the requirements page, but now the MP exe actually checks for certain files during program startup and informs you of the need to apply them, before it either crashes or closes.

    This file checking is a real pain, and should be removed unless an explanation of what new function is being called that was not in the old version and not just because a file version supposedly has problems without an issue explanation, and therefore actually show a reason to mess with a stable working Operating System.
     
  6. revilorb

    revilorb New Member

    Joined:
    December 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I downloade3d the setup package and ran it on another pc that has yet to have IE upgrded to 8.0 as yet. It is still version 6.0. And everything worked. So I downloaded the ing the files moved them over to the other computer. SO far everything has seemed to have worked. However, unless I am way off base, it seems there could be some issue with IE 8.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!