IRSS not detecting Resume from standby

Discussion in 'IR Server Suite (IRSS)' started by Jay_UK, March 19, 2012.

  1. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi all,

    I am running IRSS with MePo 1.2.2 (Miroslav's Sky SVN), IRSS seems to work ok (recieves IR and blasts), but....



    I have two events configure Standby and Resume. These either blast my TV off or on.

    The Standby Macro/event works fine, but the Resume event/macro is not being triggered. :(

    If I run the Macro, it works. So it appeas the issue is with IRSS not detecting the HTPC has resumed from standby :(

    Anyone got any ideas?

    Thanks,

    J.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. redeye19987

    redeye19987 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Could simply be the old bug that has been around for a while? That is that TVservice starts before IRServer on resume which stops it from working. You should be able to add a batch file to run to fix this. You can attach this to your power scheduler plugin under the advanced tab in the TV server configuration.
    The batch file would be something like as below:
    net stop IRServer
    net stop TVService
    net start IRServer
    net start TVService

    I used to have the problem too and this fixed it for me.
    Hope it helps you too?

    Justin
     
  4. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    Many thanks for replying, but this is on a multiseat setup - I only have IRSS installed on my client (and not on my TVServer)

    Cheers,

    J.
     
  5. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    On my Windows 7 system, the command "net start TVService" gets ignored.

    I suspect that User Access Control (UAC) is preventing the PowerScheduler plugin from executing this command. Because if I run it manually myself, UAC says after that command, "Access is denied." I have to run this batch file as "Run as Administrator" for it to work.
     
  6. redeye19987

    redeye19987 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Give this a try:
    Create a shortcut to the batch file.
    On your shortcut select properties > advanced and check "run as administrator "
    Then in power scheduler replace the batch file with the shortcut.

    I am running xp so cannot test on mine but the above seems to be a workaround to run the batch file as an administrator.
     
  7. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    On my Windows 7 x64 setup, the option "Run as administrator" is greyed out for both the batch file and and shortcuts to it, and cannot be invoked. (I guess UAC is way too strict to allow this.)

    What I may have to do, is define a task in Windows 7's Task Scheduler which will run the batch file on wakeup from sleep. Task Scheduler allows the administrator to define tasks which can run with administrator privileges. This requires me to know all the IDs of all the events that indicate a wakeup. I only know of one such ID: Event ID 1 seems to be triggered on wakeup, and I can set up a task which triggers on that. If there are any Windows 7 gurus around here who know about other such Event IDs, I would appreciate hearing from them.
     
  8. redeye19987

    redeye19987 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    I am running Windows 7 x64 on my laptop. I just did a test and it is not greyed out for me:

    Shortcut Properties (shortcut tab / Advanced button):
    BatchTest.PNG
    Batch Properties (compatibility tab)
    BatchTest2.PNG

    The Batch file itself is though which is why I suggested the shortcut workaround. That's what Google told me to do :D
     
  9. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Even that fails to restart TVService.
    UAC won't allow PowerScheduler to restart TVService, and causes it to freeze instead:

    "This snap-in is not responding. To return to MMC and check the status of the snap-in...."



    [​IMG]


    UAC is just not going to allow an unsecure process (like PowerScheduler) to run a batch file that starts up a service.

    I'll have to do it the way I suggested--let Task Scheduler (which is a trusted Microsoft process) run the batch file at wakeup.
     
  10. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    Is the issue that you want IRSS to start after TVserver?

    Why not set IRSS to have a service dependancy on TVServer???

    J.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!