Is it really this hard? (1 Viewer)

Bryan H

Portal Member
May 19, 2016
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
hi all, just signed up because I have pulled out all my hair (not true, but I am going nuts). I have been using WMC for several years, I have my entire house running on it. I decided to get away from Windows 7 and therefore need a new platform. I have been setting up MP2 for way too long now and it feel that it cannot be this hard. So I thought I would ask. I got my Ceton 6 tuner card working with the TV server (which I thought would be the hard part) and that seems to be working for live TV. My current problem (and there are several, but one at a time) is getting a remote to work with MP2. I have a WMC remote (Dell rebranded gyration remote) that works flawlessly in WMC and nothing on the remote work in MP2 other than the cursor keys. No "green button", none of the playback buttons (stop, pause, ff, rw) or anything else works. So without a working remote I cannot move forward.

For this first problem ANY help would be great (the next problem with be my DVD/ BR library that I have in "My Movies", but that's a different problem)

Thank you

Lehmden

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 17, 2010
    Lehmden
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Hi.
    I have a WMC remote (Dell rebranded gyration remote)
    The remote transmitter (the thing you have in hand) is completely unimportant for the PC, only the receiver (the thing that is plugged into the Computer) is. So the brand or type of your transmitter did not matter.

nothing on the remote work in MP2 other than the cursor keys.
    This is a sign that the receiver is not compatible with the original Microsoft receiver and needs different drivers.