Media Centre Recorded TV import (convert NFO to XML meta data format) (1 Viewer)

Ronski

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 21, 2008
    Home Country
    England England
    I'm just in the process of moving from Media Centre to MP1, and wish to move all my TV recordings to MP recorded TV.

Having Googled and searched the threads there didn't appear to be an easy/existing way to do this so I've come up with a solution that will hopefully work, although I've done limited testing and am hoping someone can tell me if there is any improvements/problems they can see before I try it on my entire recorded TV.

I've attached a ZIP file which includes the following files:
    • Base.xml - this is just the base XML file that my program reads and then writes out to the new file with the metadata it's retrieved from the NFO file and the file name.
    • MP NFO to XML Parser.exe - This is a .Net program I've written (I'm no expert)
    • An NFO file produced via MCE Buddy
    • An XML file produced via my program
    For my program to work you need to extract Base.xml and the exe file to a single folder of your choice, then it's a three stage process.

1. Convert all WTV recordings using MCE Buddy
    2. Convert the NFO files to XML files that MP1 can read
    3. Copy the files to MP recorded TV folder and import the recordings via the TV server
    For step one you need to setup MCE Buddy to use custom file renaming using the following values, and set it up to convert your video files to TS files - I've gone for uncompressed to keep the quality the same.

Code:
    \%network%\%showname%\%showname% - %recordyear%-%recordmonth%-%recordday% - S%season% - E%episode% - %episodename%%recordhour%%recordminute%