MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality | Page 47

Discussion in 'General Development (no feature request here!)' started by tourettes, July 12, 2010.

  1. seco
    • Team MediaPortal

    seco Development Group

    Joined:
    August 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    897
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,234 / 4
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality



    I have just set up version 8 and no problems so far. Using AC3, system specs on the left.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Truri
    • Premium Supporter

    Truri MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    Hi @all,

    at first the good:
    With v8 and the newest ATI HDMI driver the soundrepeats semms to be gone... :)
    And I'am able to play my "problem video" file and switching the tracks!! :))

    And now the "bad": ^^

    Any idea why I suddenly can't tune an HD channel anymore?!
    Yesterday I was watching "Sky Sport HD 1" (german) and suddenly the picture freezed. Since then I have these problems.
    Tuning ZDF/ARTE/ARD HD took longer but after some time they worked.
    But with Sky Sport HD 1 I have no luck.
    Changing video codec didn't help, but that seems not to be the problem.
    To that time I used v8 with the old HDMI driver.

    Only HD channels are affected. Normal SD Channel with or without AC3 Tracks are working as they should.

    Atached are some logs with v7/v8 and trying both HDMI drivers.

    Code (Text):
    1. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.452 [ 17a8] WASAPIRenderer::InitCoopLevel Putting thread in higher priority for Wasapi mode (lowest latency)
    2. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.452 [ 17a8] CompleteConnect Success
    3. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.596 [ 17a8] Pause
    4. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec] CheckMediaType
    5. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec] WAVEFORMATEX - CheckMediaType
    6. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nAvgBytesPerSec 480000
    7. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nBlockAlign     10
    8. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nChannels       5
    9. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nSamplesPerSec  48000
    10. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   wBitsPerSample  16
    11. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   wFormatTag      65534
    12. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE
    13. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   dwChannelMask 55
    14. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   GUID          {00000001-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    15. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec] WASAPIRenderer::CheckAudioClient
    16. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec] WAVEFORMATEX - WASAPIRenderer::CheckAudioClient
    17. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nAvgBytesPerSec 480000
    18. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nBlockAlign     10
    19. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nChannels       5
    20. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   nSamplesPerSec  48000
    21. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   wBitsPerSample  16
    22. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   wFormatTag      65534
    23. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE
    24. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   dwChannelMask 55
    25. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec]   GUID          {00000001-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    26. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.873 [ 13ec] WASAPIRenderer::CheckAudioClient Format changed, reinitialize the audio client
    27. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.874 [ 13ec] WASAPIRenderer::CheckAudioClient New format not supported, accept it anyway
    28. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.875 [ 13ec] WASAPIRenderer::CheckMediaType WASAPI client refused the format: (0x88890008)
    29. 29-08-2010 16:09:09.890 [ 17a8] BeginFlush
    But I didn't get them back to work.

    The only solution is to use the normal Soundoutput (orhginal Directshowhelper, AC3 Passthrough)...
    So my conclusion is that the problem _must_ be here...

    I have no idea whats going on. :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Re: AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    I have, ATI simply rejects the audio format that the channels have. I bet 5 channels (not 5.1 which would be 6) aren't just supported.

    Since you are using ffdshow as the audio decoder you could try setting the ffdshow's internal mixer to mix to 6 channels.

     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Truri
    • Premium Supporter

    Truri MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    Thank you!!!

    That did the trick ;)
    I have made a profile in ffdshow to mix 5.0 up to 5.1 and thats it!!!
     
  6. micko

    micko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ratings:
    +51 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    Strange... With 2.0 audio I had a quite noticeable lost of lip sync (video ahead of time), while 5.1 plays ok. Tested now that ffdshow upmixing.. and yes after setting that (2.0->5.1) video is in sync. HW is that ATI HD5450 and renderer ver 8.

    Now I am quite happy user of your renderer. Videos are played smoothly :) More testing needed of course. Next I try this at my primary HTPC.

    PS. log is still having bunch of messages: [ 740] receiveSamples: Output sample queue was empty!
     
  7. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Seems that you have ForceDirectSound setting enabled. It shouldn't be used unless you are troubleshooting some issues (it is known to have completely out of sync A/V :)) - with ATI there shouldn't be any issues that couldn't be solved with ffdshow resampling & mixing settings.
     
  8. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Here's debug log files from avi that fails (as discussed in IRC)
     
  9. red5goahead
    • Premium Supporter

    red5goahead MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 24, 2007
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software engineering
    Location:
    Italy, North West
    Ratings:
    +144 / 1
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    Would be possible to have a new audio rendered to test it easyly out of Media portal enviroment such as Graph Studio or Graphedit (changing mixer setup, resampling and so on) so in ?
    So a pin "in" for wasapi support other than the directsound I see in graph I guess.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. micko

    micko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ratings:
    +51 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    Ok, but for a some reason MP won't use your renderer if I don't set ForceDirectSound. I told this earlier and you answered to set that on. I know you cannot remember all problems that each one have ;). Still wondering why is this happening since there is ppl to using ATI without forcing that on.
     
  11. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Me too, could you post the log with the setting turned off? I'll check what happens there with the v8. I assume that it is just some file that fails to play with ATI - just some stream format that ATI doesn't support.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!