MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality | Page 97

Discussion in 'General Development (no feature request here!)' started by tourettes, July 12, 2010.

  1. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    The issue with the voices is not related MediaPortal Audio renderer (nor v18)[/quote]

    So, the issue happens with default direct sound audio renderer as well? In that case the issue is most likely in spekaer config on OS level (or some other similar place).



    Check ffdshow audio settings (mixer for example could be mixing to wrong output format - it should be ok to disable it unless you have movies that have more than 5.1 tracks).

    When using passthru it will always sent the encoded stream directly to the amplifier and no OS / soundcard will manipulate the stream. But I'm still wondering how the passthru works at all if you have analog connection out of the soundcard.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Truri
    • Premium Supporter

    Truri MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    Yesterday I had some problems:

    Watching a video with refreshrate change didn't work sometimes correct. 50Hz -> 24Hz (in that case)
    After starting the video it was played "to slow" - maybe only with ~10fps.
    Stopping and restarting worked.
    It didn't happend every time.
    When it playes with the correct fps all was ok and smooth.

    The only thing that I changed was updating to v18, so I think that there is a connection ;9


    I will try to post some logs, I hope I can reproduce the issue.
     
  4. krzysior

    krzysior Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 10, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I thought that since audio renderer and evr presenter can communicate each other this could be done...
    But ok, actual solution with audio delay in audio renderer is anyway more universal than delay in ffdshow since it works with all audio decoders. So again, thank You very much for this feature, for me it's very helpful.
     
  5. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Re: AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    Wrong resampling is probably causing the slowness - at least part of it.

    Audio renderer doesn't affect the refresh rate changes or detection at all. dshowhelper.dll is partly responsible (detection only) - but that code is not changed for months.
     
  6. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Problem is that EVR presenter doesn't have any registry keys to store those settings (as an ugly workaround teh audio renderer would need to provide those). Audio renderer itself shouldn't be interested in the actual playback rate / Hz - that is why I wouldn't like to add any settings for teh audio renderer that are denpendant on some information that audio renderer doesn't actualy need.

    Generally the player application (MP2) should be handling the settings and configuring the audio renderer to do the work.

    Good that it helps on some level. And thanks for teh feedback (the thread is almost dead what comes to the feedback with the few recent binaries. I guess it just workign too good for people since they wont nag - althou having to guess such things as stability or other issues is really bad from the renderer's maturity point of view).
     
  7. Truri
    • Premium Supporter

    Truri MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    Here are logs.
     
  8. Truri
    • Premium Supporter

    Truri MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    Ok, I take it back. with v17 the same problem...
    whats causing that so suddenly?!

    Argh I'm stupid ^^
    It's my fault. I forget that I updated yesterday also SAF.
    I reverted back to the older version and it seems that the problem is gone...
    Sorry for the trouble :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Re: AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    No problem. It is actually good information to others who might be using SAF as well that there is something probably wrong in the latest release.
     
  10. Truri
    • Premium Supporter

    Truri MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality

    Yeah, there must be a problem in FFDShow Audio because i use the mpc video codec.
    Perhaps its also related to https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/675208-post1876.html
    But I'm using a X2 4850e, so the CPU should be using SSE2.
     
  11. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,930
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I got exactly the same problems as Truri but without SAF installed.. i noticed it is only on HD stuff and only if the FPS does not match. For example my Laptop only can do 60Hz -> stutter. TV which change the refresh rate to 24p -> no stutter. Maybe Haali Splitter causes this problem but i dont know. The same videos played by VLC Player are stutterfree no matter what fps. But thats offtopic I think.

    I tested your video renderer and get this results (screen below). I used v17 without the audio renderer connected yet. I registered the renderer once with an older version.. can i only replace this older renderer with the new one without register it again?

    Is it really possible to get 3 flat lines? =)

    My System Specs:

    Intel Core 2 Duo P7450 / 2.13 GHz
    4GB DDR2 SDRAM - PC2-5300 - 667 MHz
    NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT - 512 MB GDDR3 SDRAM
    Connection via HDMI to a Denon AVR -> LCD TV
    Sound onboard

    PS:
    For those who cant see the three lines if they press shift+1, like me for a long time, install the latest DirectX Runtime! =)
     

    Attached Files:

    • stats.jpg
      stats.jpg
      File size:
      184.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 6, 2010
      Views:
      81
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!