Mediaportal hangs/crashes on startup while loading display plugins

Discussion in 'General Support' started by VIXUN, August 24, 2010.

  1. VIXUN

    VIXUN Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.1 final
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit
    CPU Type: AMD X2 240e
    HDD: OS: 32 GB Mtron Mobi 3525 SSD, Daten: 1 TB WD Caviar Green
    Memory: 4 GB DDR2 RAM
    Motherboard: Asus M4A79XTD EVO
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD5450
    Video Card Driver: Catalyst 10.7
    Sound Card: VIA® VT1708S onboard
    Sound Card AC3: optical out
    Sound Card Driver: Realtek HD Audio
    1. TV Card: FloppyDTV
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-C
    1. TV Card Driver: BDA
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow Video Decoder
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow Audio Decoder
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow DXVA Video Decoder
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Kabel Deutschland
    HTPC Case: Antec Fusion Remote Black
    Cooling: Scythe BIG Shuriken
    Power Supply: Enermaxx Liberty 350 W
    Remote: Logitech Harmony One
    TV: Samsung LE 40 B750 UPZX
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI

    Hi everyone

    Since a couple of days I am facing a strange problem while starting mediaportal and I am short from throwing my HTPC out of the window :mad:

    The problem is, that everytime i start mediaportal it gets stuck/crashes while loading the display plugin (at least it says so in German). I have already done a search here in the forum but any solution (delay the startup by 30 seconds, use an aero splash screen on the desktop, delete ccc.exe from auto start etc.) to a problem similar to mine did not work.

    As I have no clue what to do else I hope someone here can help me. I've attached all logfiles the watchdog created after the last crash.
    As further explanation I can say that I already uninstalled everything related to mediaportal (mediaportal, tvserver, saf codec and skin) and that I am now using the basic single seat installation wihtout any addons, plugins or else. I even disabled all plugins (wiki, sudoku and so one) in order to find the mistake.

    Thx for your help guys, I'm counting on you!!!!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. MarioHTPC

    MarioHTPC New Member

    Joined:
    August 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    HI

    I have the same proplem ' Starting plugins...' frozen.

    I install mediaportal client on a old pentium 4 1.8 ghz CompacQ evo with windows xp

    I try to install Steamed mp and no change

    I will uninstall aand try again.

    Do you find how to correct this problem.
    Thanks
     
  4. CPergler

    CPergler Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Hello. Tried to upgrade to MP1.1 and I have the exact same Problem! In my case I clould narrow it down to these conditions:

    1) It only occurs on a TV client - when I start MP on the server itself it starts normally.
    2) On the client it only occurs when the TV plugin is enabled. (So its likely to have something to do the with the connection to the TV server, which is strange because once MP has startet - without TV plugin - I have no trouble accessing all content located on the TV server)
    3) When I start MP on the client with TV plugin active (and yes, I have configured the correct IP Address of the server), then kill the MP process with taskmanager when it hangs at the splash screen, and start it a second time IT WORKS - until the next reboot of the client.

    Both my machines (Server and Client) are Vista SP2 now with Core2 CPU, 2GB RAM and ATI HD4350 graphics card. On the server I use 2 FireDTV S2 Receivers. No Firewall and no AV active so far.

    Will keep you updated...
     
  5. alank
    • Premium Supporter

    alank MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2006
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    9
    Occupation:
    Java Developer
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    This is usually because it cannot find the TV Server. If you let it sit long enough it usually times out and gives you an error and then lets you continue.
     
  6. CPergler

    CPergler Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Very interesting... It works now. No idea why - I changed NOTHING. Could it be that right after the setup of the TV server it is very busy with grabbing EPG data (in my case for a whole bunch of DVB-S channels)?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!