MediaPortal performance tweaks for dummies? (1 Viewer)

SwissBuster

Portal Pro
June 27, 2008
Geneva, Switzerland
Home Country
Switzerland Switzerland
Windows Version: Vista Home Premium SP1
CPU Type: Intel Core2 Duo E7200 2.53Ghz
Memory: 4GM RAM
Motherboard: Asus P5N-EM HDMI
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD2400 Pro

Although I have been using MP for about 3 years, I realise I am out now out of my depth with my latest MP issues and so am appealing to this community for help...

I came home from a 10-day business trip to a hugely unresponsive MP. I can only guess that windows ran some automatic upgrades while I was away, the net result of which was terrible stuttering on all channels. I spent the best part of my week off fixing MP which has only been partly successful.

Some things were clear early on:
1. I could view all channels perfectly in the TV config viewer, so the issue is with MP and not the satelite feed for the TV signal.
2. I had up to 100% CPU on HD channels, so I started looking at options to reduce the CPU load. Switching from the StreamedMP skin to Blue3Wide made an immediately improvement, which allowed me conclude that the skin can effect performance (correct?). I tested all skins and settled on Black Glass Novo which works well. I was dropping about 15% of frames in StreamedMP, now it is zero.
3. During these tests, I learned about the "!" function in MP which displays some kind of display performance. I don't know exactly what this shows except that, stable lines correspond to a good picture.
4. From hints in these forums pages, I played with all codec options I had. I had discovered in the past that PDVD8 codecs were not good on my system, but of the others I have (standard out-of-the-box codecs?) I don't see a noticable difference. I settled on DivX for HD.
5. Testing demonstrated that BBC HD and BBC One HD were the most difficult channels. HD Suisse and ITV HD usually worked fine.