MediaPortal TV Server 1.5 Crashing (Out of Memory Exception)

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by HDMS, October 9, 2013.

  1. HDMS

    HDMS Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Christchurch
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Installed MP1.5 on the 5th since then I have had TV Server crash twice, once on the 6th and again on the 8th Showing out of memory exception, I haven't had this happen at all before with previous versions! I have attached logs



    system Intel i3 with 4G Ram win7 (32bit)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello HDMS

    Issues with memory are some of the hardest sorts of issues to solve. Your logs don't tell us how much memory the system is using or which processes are using it, so we're not able to track problems that way.

    Can you tell me: is TV Server memory use constantly growing as soon as it has started, or does it sit steady most of the time?
    How much memory does TV Server use on your system?

    The answers to these questions can be obtained by opening task manager, going to the processes tab, click show all processes, sort by process name, and the looking at the details for the TVService.exe process.

    mm
     
  4. HDMS

    HDMS Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Christchurch
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I will collect some memory data. I expect the issue is more with the client consuming the memory, then the TV server running out of resources to continue!

    Heres a current snapshot:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Wow!
    I'm sitting on XP and the TV service is using about 62 MB of memory. MP is using around 200 MB. Your situation seems... extreme... in both cases.
     
  6. DJBlu

    DJBlu Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Llanelli
    Ratings:
    +894 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    [2013-10-09 12:27:39,911] [Log ] [TVService] [DEBUG] - ThumbProcessor.Start: Enqueued 2246 recordings

    Just spotted this. 2246 recordings! :D That's a hell of a TV show catch up service.

    Could there be a memory leak in the Thumbnail generator as there are a few errors with this in the logs.

    Can you disable the thumbnail generator and see if this stops the memory usage.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. HDMS

    HDMS Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Christchurch
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes the system seems to be recording more than we can watch! Need a few rainy days.

    I was looking through the Setup this morning an saw the thumbnailer was back on! I had it disabled in the earlier versions because it would course problems all the time, I have disabled it again and will see what happens. (I use another plugin to do the thumbs).
     
  8. HDMS

    HDMS Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Christchurch
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Update: system stable after turning off internal thumb creation.
    File snapshot 2013-10-09 23-48.jpg shows memory usage after it's auto thumb scan prior to disabling it.
    File snapshot 2013-10-10 12-54.jpg shows memory after reboot thumbs off.
    File snapshot 2013-10-11 09-28.jpg shows memory after about 9 hrs running.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. HDMS

    HDMS Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Christchurch
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Here's my latest memory usage it has grown but system has been stable.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    1GB of memory for the TV service... that still seems ridiculously high in my opinion.
    I can't see any suspicious plugins.
    You do have a fair number of tuners, but even if they were all loaded I wouldn't expect anywhere near that amount of memory to be used.

    Do you run a multi-seat setup?
     
  11. HDMS

    HDMS Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Christchurch
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Multi-seat, I haven't used any remote clients since installing 1.5 but I have in the past under 1.3

    I have 3 Tunning cards, all same brand see attachment.
    I just checked and see I had the TvServer-Configuration app running since the 10th Oct have just closed it down and memory dropped right back to 76M! Over 5hrs it has grown back to 611m see attachment.
    Just to let you know I have enabled the power scheduler since reporting the original issue
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: October 14, 2013
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!