MePo 1.6 Final Crash on D3D.GetCapabilities()

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Bernard, January 5, 2014.

  1. Bernard

    Bernard Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 5, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Show System Specs
    Hi guys,

    My newly installed MePo 1.6 crashes on startup. Null Reference exception in D3D.GetCapabilities(). I had a look at the code, but could not understand what variable can be null. since most code is encapsulated in another try...catch, that does not print to the log.

    History:
    I just installed Win 7 on a new box, with a clean 1.6 installation. I also did not add any plugins (not even Lav and Titan Extended, during setup). After all the prerequisites was installed, I just opened MediaPortal, and then it opened the configuration, I chose "Save". Then ran MediaPortal again, and noticed nothing happened.

    OS: Win7 x64
    Motherboard: MSI P4M900M2-L
    VGA: VIA P4M900 (Intergrated)
    DirectX: 11 + 9.0c SDK (June2010)

    Log is attached.

    Please let me know if you need more information.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hi Bernard,

    Not sure if your problem is equal to the reports in this thread, but the latest binaries for that issue can be found in this post.
    Your logs don't show:
    but it seems to fail almost directly after Init
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  5. Bernard

    Bernard Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 5, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Show System Specs
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for helping out. I tried the v14 assemblies but no luck. I do get a different experience, for what it's worth:

    When I run MePo now, it actually shows the splash (this didn't show previously) with "Initializing DirectX...", at this point it just sits like that for a while. I killed MePo and noticed that the process went into a infinite loop now, you can see that in the log files because the same line is printed over and over.

    Also I see all other log line entries are gone, it is almost as if the original log file gets overridden the first time before it starts making sequence numbers... see the attached log file, it is no. 1 but it has none of the other entries in it... this is probably unrelated but I find it strange.

    Other than that, the error reported is also less helpful compared to the old log output in my first post. I just mention this incase the v14 has changes to how and when log entries are generated.

    Continuing with the problem:
    I have just checked DxDiag and when I ran it, it said I don't have Direct3D, but when I run the x64 bit version it does say that Direct3D is enabled. I'm not sure if this may be the problem, since MePo is 32bit? Can I install like a 32bit driver on Win7 x64, I have not tried something like this before...

    Also a bit better specs is:
    VGA: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP WDDM 1.1 (link to VIA page p4m900)
    OS: Win7 x64 SP1

    Edit: Also note that I don't use some type of auto start. I'm manaully running MePo when everything has loaded. So I don't think this is something like a timing issue.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    For sure something is wrong on D3D side (this is stange).
    But good about the testing, i surely messing something, it should retry 20 times (Init) from my memory.

    In this bin, adaptor can be null because D3D is not yet init (but seems to happen with MP start option that is not you case).

    with this bin, it check for null value until it find one and with a hardcoded retry count value (20).

    I have only one dxdiag it seems how did you see that is a 32 or 64 version ?

    upload_2014-1-5_21-15-16.png
     
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Can you retry with full debug log ? :)
     
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I will upload V15 bin for you :)
     
  9. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  10. Bernard

    Bernard Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 5, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Show System Specs
    Hi Sebastiii,

    Find new debug logs attached. Infinite loop is gone :)

    DxDiag:
    This is how the "stock" DxDiag looks on my Win7 (notice the "Run 64-bit DxDiag" button):
    dxdiag.png

    On the 32bit DxDiag, I see this on Display:
    dxdiag2.png

    On x64 bit version I see this:
    dxdiag3.png

    I did install the full DirectX 9.0c that was required (strange since I thought DirectX 11 would be fine...). But maybe I should install the full version of DirectX 11 as well, I'm saying full version because I'm not sure why I only have 4 tabs in DxDiag...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Ok :)
    I didn't have this 64bit option on mine dxdiag lol
    You install MP from deploy tools right ? it should install eventual missing thing.

    Thanks for log, now it should look like it should. But still didn't solve your issue :(
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!