"missing or invalid file ..." appears for almost all pluglins (wikipedia, news, onlinevideos,...)

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by Marc23, February 4, 2013.

  1. Marc23

    Marc23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi everybody,

    I have the MP 1.3 Beta installed and I am very satisfied with it. But it seems that I have made a general mistake by installing the software. During installation I was asked for the folder path. Automatically suggested was "C:\program files (x86)" but due to the german Win7 system I use I replaced the suggestion manually by typing "c:\programme (x86)".

    Later I opened the windows explorer and saw that I have now 2 similar folders called "c:\programme (x86)". I assume that "programme (x86)" is just a dynamic windows label or something like that. But mediaportal now is installed in the static folder "c:\programme (x86)" I have created.



    Could this be the problem for the error messages I receive by opening the mentioned plugins (OnlineVideos, Wikipedia, News, ...)?

    Every time I try to open one of these the following similar messages appear:

    "missing or invalid file c:\ProgramData\Team Mediaportal\Mediaportal\Skin\Titan\myonlinevideos.xml"

    Have I to reinstall the whole MP and all of the plugins or is there a more comfortable solution?

    Many thanks for any support.

    KR Marc
     
    Last edited: February 4, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Marc23

    Marc23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hallo?

    Does anyone have made similar experiences? Any hints?

    Is there a Mediaportal config file where the folder pathes could be edited?

    KR Marc
     
  4. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,234
    Likes Received:
    4,979
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,388 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Just re-install MP and don´t change the path ;)
    After that you may delete the static new folder ;)
     
  5. Caminante

    Caminante Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    static new folder???
     
  6. Marc23

    Marc23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi Catavolt!

    It is really a pity, but I will do it, if there is no other way.

    Uninstalling the whole MP with all plugins means that I will lose all my settings, is not it? Which file/folder I can backup to keep my settings/configuration?

    Many thanks!

    Marc
     
  7. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,234
    Likes Received:
    4,979
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,388 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No no no!
    Just reinstall MP in the standard MP location - all your plugins, settings etc. are still there!
     
  8. Marc23

    Marc23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    It unfortunately does not worked as thought. Reinstall kept the config files in my static folder.

    But now I have already installed everything again and now almost all is working like before.

    But for the rss news feeds I still receive the "missing or invalid file" message. But I am still working on that. One stupid question concerning that issue: Does the MP news plugin awaits an url ending with .rss or is a .rdf also O.K.?

    Many thanks again.

    KR Marc
     
  9. Marc23

    Marc23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    [​IMG]Could anybody help? I still receive the "missing or invalid file" error message, when opening the rss news feeds. As feed url I have used

    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/index.php?title=Special:Recentchanges&feed=rss

    I also have tried other rss feeds but everyone I have tried resulted in the error message.

    The wikipedia app and online videos are functioning properly. What can I do to get the rss feeds working? :confused:

    KR Marc
     
  10. Marc23

    Marc23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I just wanted to install and test the smart Playlist plugin. After installing and configuring it, I tried to open it. The result:

    "Missing or Invalid file....."

    Is it a systematical issue regarding MP 1.3.0? I have checked the compatibility icons and for smart playlists it is stated that it is compatible with 1.3.x.

    Could anybody help me?

    The situation with RSS news feeds is unchanged (see my posts above). I have tested the Rss plugin on two different win 7 64Bit systems. Same behavior on both systems and installations of MP 1.3.0 RC.

    Would be thankful for any hint.

    KR Marc
     
  11. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,234
    Likes Received:
    4,979
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,388 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    These messages refer to a skin issue - means the used skin does not have the necessary skin files to display.
    So pls check your skin whether it supports these plugins ;)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!