MP Config ::: Music Visualization error

Discussion in '1.0.1 and SVN Builds' started by joz, April 11, 2009.

  1. joz

    joz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    153
    Occupation:
    J2ME / PHP programmer
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    TV-Server Version: none
    MediaPortal Version: 1.0.1
    MediaPortal Skin: Monochrome
    Windows Version: Windows XP SP3 (x86)
    CPU Type: Intel E6750 @ stock
    HDD: WD Green 1TB
    Memory: OCZ Gold XTC 2GB DDR2-800 CL5 kit
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L
    Video Card: Club 3D Radeon HD 3650 512MB Passive Heatpipe
    Video Card Driver: 8.12
    Sound Card: Creative Xfi XtremeMusic
    Sound Card AC3: unknown
    Sound Card Driver: latest non-beta
    1. TV Card:
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MPV
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: FFDShow
    h.264 Video Codec: Haali media splitter
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Rebel 9 Value Edition :) It's damn silent
    Cooling: 2x Papst 612FL 60mm, 1x Scythe Kaze Jyu Slim 100mm 1000rpm
    Power Supply: Cooler Master Extreme Power 390W
    Remote: Harmony One
    TV: Aristona
    TV - HTPC Connection: Composite

    Whenever I enter the Music visualization tab in MP config with my newly installed MP 1.0.1 I get this error;

    [​IMG]

    I checked and the dll file is there but maybe in the wrong place?
    This only happens when entering the visualization tab for the first time in that session.
    Ignoring the error and setting up visualization seems to work good for me.

    p.s.
    With this new release the awesome vis Whitecap is finally running really good and smooth. :D for the awesome job!



    p.s.2
    When starting up MP or the config section it will also start Whitecap, haven't tested yet with different vis.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Pretoriano
    • Team MediaPortal

    Pretoriano Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 1, 2007
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Roma, Italia
    Ratings:
    +137 / 0
    Home Country:
    Romania Romania
    joz i'm using milkdrop2 viz on Vista x64 and i don't have this issue,i uploaded the file here -->https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/394682-post1.html
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. joz

    joz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    153
    Occupation:
    J2ME / PHP programmer
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    and :D again Pretoriano, helped me out with 2 different issues in about half an hour :) thx again!

    I took the files from your post and already noticed my nscrt.dll was sitting in the wrong place. it should be in the dir "MusicPlayer". Before I had mine sitting in "MusicPlayer\plugins\visualizations"

    p.s.
    The starting of the Viz. Whitecap remains (just for a sec, get's started and then shutdown) but that's no big deal, barely noticable too.
     
  5. Pretoriano
    • Team MediaPortal

    Pretoriano Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 1, 2007
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Roma, Italia
    Ratings:
    +137 / 0
    Home Country:
    Romania Romania
    Startig it means you get a flashing window when open MP configuration and MP app.? -->if yes,then it's all ok

    Normally nscrt.dll should be placed in the MP installation folder;)
     
  6. joz

    joz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    153
    Occupation:
    J2ME / PHP programmer
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    That's it exactly (altough I would not describe it as flashing beause you can clearly see it when sitting behind your pc), so I guess that's expected behaviour
     
  7. joz

    joz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    153
    Occupation:
    J2ME / PHP programmer
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Just to add to this, however Whitecap's working now for me it has the downside it apparently forces the the mouse cursor to be always on top.
    If I change to another viz it doesn't happen anymore.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!