MP freezes when looking at my pictures directories

Discussion in '0.2.3.0 RC3 and SVN Builds' started by aweinman, November 9, 2007.

  1. aweinman

    aweinman Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    SVN-snapshot from: MediaPortal-svn--11-09-2007--01-01-Rev16485.exe



    Hardware Specification:


    TV-Server Version:
    MediaPortal Version: MediaPortal_0.2.3.0_RC3
    MediaPortal Skin: default
    Windows Version: windows xp sp2
    CPU Type: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ running at ~2806 MHz
    HDD: Segate 500GB
    Memory: 2GB
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
    Motherboard Chipset:
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: on board ATI Radeeon X1250
    Video Card Driver: 5.14.10.6706
    Sound Card: on board Realtec HD
    Sound Card AC3: optical out
    Sound Card Driver: 5.10.0.5497
    1. TV Card: none
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow latest
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow latest
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Antec dsk 1300
    Cooling: antec with case
    Power Supply: antec with case
    Remote: ms mce ir remote
    TV: Sanyo PLV-Z5 Projector
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI -> HDMI


    error description:
    1. start mediaportal in fullscreen mode
    2. go to MyPictures
    3. view some pictures, go back to picture directory structure or just wait in directory structure of pics
    4. MediaPortal just freezes after 20 seconds to a few minutes
    5. I have repeated test 100 times. Always have to ctrl-alt-delete to close from task manager

    attachments: aweinman.zip
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ronilse
    • Premium Supporter

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Tested it here & can't confirm this issue, works good as always. See that you have a directx error in your log, so was this a clean MP install(no old files leftover from earlier) & do you have all windows updates?
    You can also try to install latest DirectX from MS..

    Regards
    Roy
     
  4. charli181
    • Premium Supporter

    charli181 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 3, 2007
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    computer telephony integration senior specialist
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I do not know the individual driver version numbers, but have you got Catalyst 7.2 drivers loaded. Anything higher than that will cause freezing of MP. If you ALT-ENTER at a freeze the screen will activate again for a short period before freezing again.
     
  5. aweinman

    aweinman Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Thanks for the replies.
    It was a clean install - I uninstalled everything that was there before.
    But it did keep some settings from the previous install. Not sure where it got it from.

    I will check the version of catalyst when I get home.

    I probably will re-install winXP from scratch, as I know I updated catalyst at one time, and the update did not work, and I had to go back to an older version. just not sure which version as I am not home.

    Allan
     
  6. G.B. Wolf
    • Premium Supporter

    G.B. Wolf MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 22, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Web developer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
  7. aweinman

    aweinman Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    TV-Server Version:
    MediaPortal Version: MediaPortal_0.2.3.0_RC3
    MediaPortal Skin: default
    Windows Version: windows xp sp2
    CPU Type: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ running at ~2806 MHz
    HDD: Segate 500GB
    Memory: 2GB
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
    Motherboard Chipset:
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: on board ATI Radeeon X1250
    Video Card Driver: 5.14.10.6706
    Sound Card: on board Realtec HD
    Sound Card AC3: optical out
    Sound Card Driver: 5.10.0.5497
    1. TV Card: none
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow_rev1589_20071030_clsid
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow_rev1589_20071030_clsid
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Antec dsk 1300
    Cooling: antec with case
    Power Supply: antec with case
    Remote: ms mce ir remote
    TV: Sanyo PLV-Z5 Projector
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI -> HDMI


    I just re-installed XP from scratch. Fully patched and hotfixed. Nothing else installed on the computer except what your file: mediaportal codec guide v .2.pdf says to install. Oh yeah, plus daemon 410-x86. Put on a new fresh copy of MediaPortal_0.2.3.0_RC3.

    Only used the version of Catalyst that came on the CD with the motherboard. Not sure what version the driver is except the Catalyst control center says: 2007.0614.2138.36855

    The ATI Radeon driver that auto installed with the Catalyst Control centre from the DVD is 8.390.0.0 dated 6/14/2007

    I am still getting freezes. So since charli181 and GB.wolf are also getting this, it seems to mean that this is a repeatable known problem. A alt-enter to get it out of full-screen does solve the problem until it it locks up again.

    Since this is the driver that came with the cd, which is dated 6/14/07, and it has already been updated on ATIs website. Why would I want to go back to an even older one. There must be a way to fix this for all the other ATI graphics chip users out there.

    I have attached another log file report. I have not applied a svn, but obviously that is not the current solution. I will test one if you like.

    Otherwise, looks like a great product. Just got into the HTPC thing myself, and would love to use MediaPortal, but only if we can get it to stop freezing.

    Let me know if you would like me to test anything out.

    Thanks,
    Allan
     
  8. ronilse
    • Premium Supporter

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    I use latest Catalyst drivers for my ATI card (7.10) & have no problems but i use Vista x64, seems like XP have problems & Vista not.
    Have you installed drivers for XP & for your integrated/motherboard specific cards?

    Regards
    Roy
     
  9. aweinman

    aweinman Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hi ronilse,

    Seems like this is a known problem with MediaPortal's new version and ATI video cards on XP. I have searched on the term catalyst. And have found many people with the same error. It seems the solution is to go back to a version about 6 versions ago. But I find that kind of stupid. New versions come out to solve problems, and I am sure if I go back 6 versions ago, I will end up with other issues.

    Allan
     
  10. ronilse
    • Premium Supporter

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Well what ATI does or do not i dunno, i've had a year nightmare with nvidia & problems & was stuck with a old driver on main HTPC(they did fix it @ end), so all changes are not always for the best, same with realtek sound drivers where i'm stuck with a 2 year old driver.....
    About that error you can read here & they're solution it's to contact card manufacture.

    It's not fun with those errors @ all

    Regards
    Roy
     
  11. ronilse
    • Premium Supporter

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!