MP reduces Wave volume in Volume Control on exit

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Zeffer, October 23, 2007.

  1. Zeffer

    Zeffer New Member

    Joined:
    April 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hi I'm running MP 0.2.3 RC2 with SVN 02-03-Rev16149 on an MCE 2005 SP2 HTPC.

    When I shut down MP it reduces the Wave sound volume in the main Windows Volume Control to nearly zero. I have to go into the Volume Control and reset the Wave volume slider. In the config app I have the audio set to Master, not wave.
    I've done a search of all forums w/o success. I hope I'm not duplicating this topic.



    Any help would be greatly appreciated.:
    Thanks
    S
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Marcusb
    • Premium Supporter

    Marcusb Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0
    I was going to suggest checking the audio optons, but I can see you have already done that.

    I've never heard o anything like this before sorry, so can't give any more help.
    At least you know that it seems to be a pretty isolated fault and you are not reposting.

    Do the log files show anything? mediaporta/log
    also, does this happen if you just open MP and then immediately close it or only if you have been playing video files or something? There may be a way to isolate the issue more by doing a bit of experimentation.
     
  4. Zeffer

    Zeffer New Member

    Joined:
    April 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I just tried some experimentation. If I start the app and then shut it down w/o launching the TV - no problem.
    If I launch the app turn TV and then minimize to tray and then exit it kills the wave sound, ie slider is at bottom setting.
    Lastly if I launch app, watch TV, turn off TV, then minimize to tray and exit sound is fine.

    I'll check the log tomorrow its getting late.

    Thanks for the suggestions.
     
  5. Marcusb
    • Premium Supporter

    Marcusb Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0
    heheh, good luck. it sounds like one of those really horrible windows issues that is so tricky and then turns out to be something so simple but impossible to guess at :)

    Can you try with different codecs? there may be some trick with the one you use.
    Aslo, try the same tests with video, not TV and post the results back.
     
  6. lowcrust

    lowcrust Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 1, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    I have the same or a similar problem. Would it be possible to have MP act like WinAmp or Media Player Classic where they have their own volume setting and not using the wave slider?

    The TV volume is really loud in MP so when I adjust that and later uses Windows I have to go into the Volume Control Panel and rise the sound every time. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  7. lowcrust

    lowcrust Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 1, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Anybody know if this is a major coding nightmare or if it would be possible to implement?
     
  8. otonio

    otonio New Member

    Joined:
    October 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Argentina Argentina
    i am having exactly the same problem with winamp.
    when i open winamp, and exit without doing anything, nothing strange happens. but if i open winamp, play a song, then exit, the wave volume level lowers significantly and i have to manually reset it.
    i have an asus motherboard, and drivers are up to date...
     
  9. ccna55

    ccna55 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Try using ffdshow codec there is an amplification option to adjust volume level up and down.
    If u need more info let me know.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!