MP unusable after Windows april update

Discussion in 'General Support' started by willemx, May 25, 2018.

  1. willemx
    • Premium Supporter

    willemx MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 20, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    After the Windows April update MediaPortal has become unusable. The program will start, but after the message "loading Windows plugin" the screen goes black for about 10 seconds and then MP starts again and now the UI displays. The UI is very slow and stuttering however. I cannot playback recordings or video because of the stuttering and there is no sound. Help needed...


     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,518
    Likes Received:
    631
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I tried MP1.17 with that latest Windows version and it seems to be working just fine.
     
  4. Bernie_W

    Bernie_W Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Same here. In my case the Windows device manager shows that the Display-Driver crashed (exclamation mark). As this is hd530 with Audio (for HDMI), there is no sound as well anymore. Only re-install of display driver gets me video and audio back. But literally I can't start MP (on 1.19, too). I am using latest Intel video/audio driver (win 10 X64 1709), tried MadVR, the FCU setting, only windowed mode works fine. Not sure what crap MS created here.
    I will try to upload logs as well tomorrow. Maybe there is a good soul out here that can help ;)
     
  5. sspagnol
    • Premium Supporter

    sspagnol MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 6, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    I have similar issues with Windows 10 Home 64bit, ASRock H77M motherboard, Intel® Core™ i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz, up to date HD4000 drivers.

    Could never get the error message shown with Mediaportal1 (it would just crash). With MP2

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. HRESULT: [0x88766086a], Module: [SharpDX.Direct3D9], ApiCode: [D3ERR_NOTAVAILABLE], Message: Unknown
    3.  
    From MP2 ClientError.log has entry like


    [2018-05-28 22:57:39,306] [57954224] [Main ] [INFO ] - SkinEngine MainForm: Display changed to 1920x1080@32.
    [2018-05-28 22:57:39,308] [57954224] [Main ] [INFO ] - SkinEngine MainForm: Set screen size to {Width=1920, Height=1080} (Mode: FullScreen)
    [2018-05-28 22:57:39,494] [57954412] [Main ] [WARN ] - GraphicsDevice: Resetting DX device...
    [2018-05-28 22:57:39,640] [57954556] [Main ] [WARN ] - GraphicsDevice: Device successfully reset
    [2018-05-28 22:57:40,506] [57955424] [Main ] [INFO ] - SkinEngine MainForm: Display changed to 1024x768@32.
    [2018-05-28 22:57:40,508] [57955424] [Main ] [INFO ] - SkinEngine MainForm: Set screen size to {Width=1024, Height=768} (Mode: FullScreen)
    [2018-05-28 22:57:40,766] [57955680] [Main ] [WARN ] - GraphicsDevice: Resetting DX device...
    [2018-05-28 22:57:40,858] [57955772] [Main ] [WARN ] - GraphicsDevice: Device successfully reset
    [2018-05-28 22:57:41,652] [57956568] [Main ] [INFO ] - SkinEngine MainForm: Display changed to 1920x1080@32.
    [2018-05-28 22:57:41,842] [57956760] [Main ] [INFO ] - SkinEngine MainForm: Set screen size to {Width=1920, Height=1080} (Mode: FullScreen)
    [2018-05-28 22:57:41,899] [57956816] [Main ] [WARN ] - GraphicsDevice: Resetting DX device...
    [2018-05-28 22:57:42,001] [57956916] [Main ] [WARN ] - GraphicsDevice: Device successfully reset
    [2018-05-28 22:57:52,768] [57967684] [DX Render] [WARN ] - GraphicsDevice: DirectX Exception, DeviceState: DeviceRemoved
    SharpDX.SharpDXException: HRESULT: [0x88760870], Module: [SharpDX.Direct3D9], ApiCode: [D3DERR_DEVICEREMOVED/DeviceRemoved], Message: Unknown
    at SharpDX.Result.CheckError()
    at SharpDX.Direct3D9.DeviceEx.PresentEx(IntPtr sourceRectRef, IntPtr destRectRef, IntPtr hDestWindowOverride, IntPtr dirtyRegionRef, Int32 dwFlags)
    at SharpDX.Direct3D9.DeviceEx.PresentEx(Present flags)
    at MediaPortal.UI.SkinEngine.DirectX.GraphicsDevice.Render(Boolean doWaitForNextFame)
    [2018-05-28 22:57:52,768] [57967684] [Main ] [INFO ] - SkinEngine MainForm: Display changed refresh rate, size remained 1920x1080@32.
    [2018-05-28 22:57:53,047] [57967964] [Main ] [ERROR] -
    SharpDX.SharpDXException: HRESULT: [0x8876086A], Module: [SharpDX.Direct3D9], ApiCode: [D3DERR_NOTAVAILABLE/NotAvailable], Message: Unknown
    at SharpDX.Result.CheckError()
    at SharpDX.Direct3D9.Direct3D.GetAdapterDisplayMode(Int32 adapter)
    at MediaPortal.UI.SkinEngine.DirectX.D3DSetup.FindBestWindowedMode(Boolean doesRequireHardware, Boolean doesRequireReference)
    at MediaPortal.UI.SkinEngine.DirectX.D3DSetup.SetupDirectX()
     
  6. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    235
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +545 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I still run MP on Windows Vista. But I was under the impression that after a major update to Windows 10, you have 30 days in which to uninstall the update. After 30 days the old files are deleted in order to reduce disk space usage, and you can no longer easily return to the previous version.

    What happens if you uninstall the Windows update? Does MP then run correctly, or are there still problems?

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  7. joecrow
    • Premium Supporter

    joecrow MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    576
    Ratings:
    +1,004 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    According to the AMD website your graphics card HD 4550 (as shown in your system specs.) is deemed to be a legacy item and there are no Win 10 drivers for it. On the other hand the DXDiag in the error logs shows you have Intel HD graphics. Either way imho you have a graphics card or driver issue.
    I can confirm that the April update to Win 10 works fine with MP 1 and current AMD graphics cards and drivers (running on 2 PCs).
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!