[MP1-4578] Crashes after standby

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Sebastiii, March 8, 2015.

  1. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    6,223
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,235 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Description of Change

    This branch try to fix MP crash or freeze after S3 (Standby), current MP version has an issue if MP is not focused on resume, the signal to tell MP that system has resumed is not handled and lead to MP freezed.
    This branch fix that and try to fix other resume issues.
    It didn't fix some rare case where GPU graphics crash on resume (like some Intel Integrated GPU).
    In General when GPU crash/recover, MP didn't survive to this, it's rare but can happen and most of the time on resume.
    This is a BUGFIX installer to get attention about testing for user that run into this issue, with enough good result and without regression, it surely can go in next MP release.:)

    Jira Link : https://issues.team-mediaportal.com/browse/MP1-4578
    Git Branch : https://github.com/MediaPortal/Medi...)_causes_freezes_after_resume_from_standby_V4
    Wiki docs: No need.



    Steps to install and test
    Installation
    2015.04.02 :
    Download the -->> installer based on 1.11 Final <<-- and execute it.

    Testing
    Upgrade your current 1.11.0 Pre-Release installation and try :) :
    Please do not forget to give some feedback (also if there is no bug). Thank you!
    That's all :)

    Sebastiii

    Changelog

    2015.04.02 :
    Version 1.11 Final

    Build Based on MP 1.11 master + MP1-4578 branch.

    Version 1.10.100 Pre-release

    Build Based on MP 1.10.100 master + MP1-4578 branch.

    History
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/mp1-4578-crashes-after-standby.127806/
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/mp1-4578-crashes-after-standby.128997/
     
    Last edited: April 2, 2015
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,762
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Seb,

    The file name says 1.10.100_2015-02-26 while one would expect to see 1.11.100. Just want to ensure that this version is really the 1.11.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    6,223
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,235 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi :)
    1.10.100 is 1.11 Pre-release. (I know, i most often mix thing too but it's the correct installer)
    Thanks to asking.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I guess this is the same code as the bugreport topic right? I'm running these fixes for some time now and everything works smooth and without issues.

    Incase I have any issues I will surely add it to this topic.
     
    Last edited: March 8, 2015
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I got an issue where there is no video when I start live tv sometimes, the screen just stays black and when I click info the info window comes up like normally but the screen staybs black. This can only be fixed by restarting mediaportal. I've grabbed a watchdog zip just after it happened, maybe you can find the cause.

    Since i'm running the test build from this thread(including tv thread, and playlist fix) and the problem only occurs after standby sometimes I think it can be related.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The reason TV isn't playing is because there is no audio decode filter connected to TsReader - there is no 'audPin:CompleteConnect()' entry in TsReader log.

    From MediaPortal log the pin connection seems to have failed:
    Code (Text):
    1. [2015-03-09 22:04:36,888] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Filter: LAV Audio Decoder - try to connect: Output
    2. [2015-03-09 22:04:36,888] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - DirectShowUtil: build the graph for PIN : Output
    3. [2015-03-09 22:04:37,205] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - DirectShowUtil: RenderUnconnectedOutputPins Pin Output - failed
    4. [2015-03-09 22:04:37,206] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - TSReaderPlayer: CleanupCC filter (Tv/Recorded Stream Detected)
    5. [2015-03-09 22:04:37,206] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: LAV Audio Decoder
    6. [2015-03-09 22:04:37,206] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] -  - remove done
    7.  
    Is it possible that the Audio Device isn't available, so the Audio Renderer is refusing the connection from the LAV Audio decoder output pin ?
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I don't think so as sound is working correct when the tv doesn't play(I got the bleep bleep from my titan skin when pressing buttons for example). Tv only starts after I start it manually so by that time I'm sure my receiver has turned fully on so that can't be the problem.

    Can this be related to this build/thread anyway?
     
  9. markus_g

    markus_g Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    This bugfix appears to cause problems with a Intel GPU. When I tested it Mediaportal seemed to intermittently lockup on startup. I plan to test it again over the weekend and supply logs. It didn't appear to lockup when going to standby though.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    6,223
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,235 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    That's possible to have sound in Titan and not on TV or watching a movie, i think it append once on my side but not sure.
     
  11. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,512
    Likes Received:
    2,564
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,248 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    i have your build since 1 week now, and few time TV show sound but with black screen, this issue appear after resume only.
    and when TV go to sleep many times, or go to sleep by timer.

    yesterday, MP GUI was freezed after resume, but i can hear the "click" sound of my remote. but enter has no effect.
    and for change, i have removed the logs... "comme un con ! "
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!