MP2 - V2.1 - MP2.1.1 black sreen after wake up from sleep in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Older releases' started by karniemi, October 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. karniemi

    karniemi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    MediaPortal 2 Version: 2.1.1

    Description
    MP2.1.1 black sreen after wake up from sleep in Windows 10

    I was about become mental with this problem. I installed Windows 10 at some point on my HTPC, and later installed Media Portal 2 ...it was a long time frame. At some point I noticed that after standby the htpc never starts up, but gives only a black screen. I tried all the stuff I could: gfx driver reinstall, different PSU, reattach devices, unplug usb dvb-t receivers,...a long time, lots of curses(none of them helped the htpc but they worked for me ). Just a few minutes ago, I somehow got the idea to try disabling&stopping Media Portal2 TV service. Bang! Problem gone. Start Media Portal2 TV service: problem back. Stop again: problem gone. I'm so exhausted, yet happy.

    Logs attached.



    Steps to Reproduce:
    install MP2 on W10. Standby. wakeup: black screen
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    How is your system behaving when you do the following:
    • Activate MP2 service
    • Do not start the MP2 client app
    • Put your PC into standby
    • Wake it up again
     
  4. karniemi

    karniemi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Hi, indeed, I forgot to explicitly mention: I did not start the client at all. So only TV service is needed for this to happen.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    OK, thank you for the information.

    There is no principal know problem and I'd rather suspect that there is some other problem on your system. Since I have difficutlties reading the FInnish event logs, can you indicate at what date/time you were last trying to resume the PC?
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    There is an error message in the app event log indicating hat Windows cannot be acivated :unsure:

     
  7. karniemi

    karniemi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Hi,

    Yes, it is a problem in my system -but only when MP2 Server is included in the system ;). And yes, W10 is not activated yet, I am evaluating if this rig would be OK with W10 and MP2. But I doubt the currently missing activation is the reason for the problem. This PC used to have licensed Vista and MP1.

    I switched the system language to English, started MP2 Server, set system to Sleep at 8 Oct 2017 at 21:55, waited until in sleep, hit KB to wake it up, waited a minute, still black screen, brute force shutdown pressing power button for few seconds. Then powered on again. Logs attached.
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Can you redo the same with log level set to DEBUG?
     
  9. karniemi

    karniemi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    "Mediaportal TV Server Configuration -> General -> Log Level" already says "Debug". So what should I do, exactly?
     
  10. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This option works for MP1 only and has no function in MediaPortal 2. Please see WIki for how to easily change log level in MP2.
     
  11. karniemi

    karniemi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Aha, so I ended up using some dead part of the UI. Maybe there some reason to keep it there.

    Now switched that debug option ON via MP2 Client. Then did again, what I did earlier. To Sleep at 8 Oct 2017 22:57. Logs attached.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!