MP2 - V2.1 - [MP2-763] Interface configuration for RTSP streaming server lost on every restart

Discussion in 'Older releases' started by Kupferdings, June 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kupferdings

    Kupferdings New Member

    Joined:
    July 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    MediaPortal 2 Version: 2.1.3

    Description
    Hi there,

    first of all many thanks for all the great work you are doing!
    I run a MediaPortal 2 Server inside a Windows 10 Pro 1709 VM which is hosted by KVM / Qemu and can access Digital Devices Dual DVB-S2 Tuner card of the host by using PCI passthrough. This is all working very well.
    There are two network interfaces in Windows 10, as there are two networks at my home. The problem is, that the TVServer forgets which interface to use on every restart of the system or even the service. The server configuration UI always shows "auto" as the selected option and the automatic selection selects the first interface of the two interfaces in the comboBox. It is possible to select the right interface and LiveTV works afterwards but after restart it is "auto" again and the first interface is used.

    This is quite annoying in a multi homed environment as the TVServer is not reboot safe and requires regular manual work which strongly reduces the acceptance for the system of other family members.

    Hopefully I don't missed anything. If you need any further information just let me know, I will try to do my best for solving this.




    P.S.: Is there a special reason for just listening at one interface and not all interfaces? I don't know if it is related to this issue but e.g. UPnP works an all interfaces and a client can connect to the server from both networks but LiveTV only works in the selected network. This requires a more complex routing to make the TVServer available in more than one network. I asked this already in the german forum (Live TV in zwei Netzwerke streamen) but didn't get any answer. Should I open a second thread here for this topic?

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1. Start TVService
    2. Start server configuration
    3. Select Streaming Server configuration
    4. ComboBox for interface selection shows "Auto" and contains two interfaces / ip adresses
    5. Select second interface
    6. Click "Apply" and wait for restart dialog to disappear
    7. Everything is fine, server listens on port 554 of selected interface
    8. Close server configuration
    9. Restart TVService
    10. Server listens on port 554 of different interface
    11. Start server configuration
    12. Select Streaming Server configuration
    13. ComboBox for interface selection shows "Auto" again
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ulischultz

    ulischultz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 16, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Munich
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I can confirm that. It always returns to "auto" after service restart.
    But with "auto" streaming does not work if you have several ip-adresses on the server.
    It only works if I select one specific IP.
     
  4. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +2,371 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    @morpheus_xx
    Something when you are back. Probably easy to fix, I can also confirm the problem.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    If this is something embedded in the TVServer plugin, it is more fundamental. When TVE 3.0 was developed, multi-network environments were probably not that common.

    @morpheus_xx , can you comment on the issue? Is this something that can be brought up in the TVE rework thread?
     
  6. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,823 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Indeed this looks like a bug inside MP2's implementation. The "server" gets reset to the hostname. This was done to fix startup issues when the old name/IP does no longer exists (host rename, IP address change).

    My logic does only consider the hostname in check, but does not include all the valid IP adresses of the host. I will look for a fix.

    References for later:
    MediaPortal/MediaPortal-1
    MediaPortal/MediaPortal-2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,823 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Issue will be fixed in 2.2 :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Great! Will you capture this in a Jira so that it shows up in the Changelog?
     
    • Request done Request done x 1
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!