MP2 and DJBlu's Modified TV Server

Discussion in 'General' started by Adam86, August 5, 2015.

  1. Adam86

    Adam86 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Good afternoon,

    Really interested in giving MediaPortal 2 a shot, but I currently use DJBlu's modified TV server so I can utilize FreeSat/Sky FTA.

    Is it possible to keep running this TV Server and use the new MP2 alongside it as I understand the summer release has TV server incorporated.

    Thanks


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,847
    Likes Received:
    2,146
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,618 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Yes you can...
    Download the latest MP2 Build from this Post:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/t...te-1-snapshot-2015-08-03.131533/#post-1146338
    Then stop your running TV Server. After installing MP2 you need to Install SlimTV - MPExtended
    Download and instructions how to do are here:
    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/extensions/mp2-plugins/slimtv-mpextended

    Then you can use MP2 together wit a running MP1 TV Server. Drawback is, MPextended has some limitations so not all TV features are working as with "native TV"...
     
  4. Adam86

    Adam86 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick reply. Defnitely going to take a look at this :)
     
  5. eggmoe

    eggmoe Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 5, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Will this setup work with cable card and Ceton 6 ETH?
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Can you please be more specific about what you mean when you say "this setup".
     
  7. jehe
    • Team MediaPortal

    jehe Test Group

    Joined:
    February 15, 2011
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    136
    Ratings:
    +212 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
  8. Adam86

    Adam86 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hello there,

    I've finally got around to having a look into this so I tried it with the latest release (Summer 15 Update 1) and I did as you said above and stopped the TV server but unfortunately I have found I know have 2 TV Servers Installed.

    I've checked my Services and TVServer is still pointing to the original MP1 TVService.exe so am I just safe to go ahead and ignore MP2 TV Service or will i require any additional steps?

    Thanks
     
  9. Adam86

    Adam86 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Did some more digging and got it working via MPExtended. Its nice being able to watch TV using the MP1 TV Server but it does feel somewhat limited i.e having to setup the Recording folders within TV Series/Movies.

    Does the MP2 team have any plans to support the features that DJBlu brought to the table with the modified TV Server? I.E channels being allocated their correct channel numbers rather than all of them being set to 1000 and the EPG support? That way there would be no need to use the MP1 TV Server any more and I and many others would be able to have a full MP2 configuration.

    Cheers
     
  10. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,847
    Likes Received:
    2,146
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,618 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    The recently used MP1 TV server (aka TVE3.0) is pretty old and only is used today because the new TV Server (aka TVE3.5) is not finished yet. No new features will be implemented in TVE 3.0 as it is in code freeze. But as soon as the TVE 3.5 is ready it will replace the old TVE 3.0 completely in the MP2 environment. I don't know which modifications DJBlu has done but if they are widely useful they probably made or will make it into TVE 3.5... Best would be if @DJBlu and @mm1352000 are talking with each other about those features directly.

    Yes. MPE is limited in features due to technical restrictions MPExtended has.. Some sort of a BTN solution. Full features are only available with "native" TV in MP2...
     
  11. Adam86

    Adam86 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    It would be really good if TVE 3.5 could get these enhancements incorporated as it's the only thing holding me right back now and the rest of my family as we all have a similar setup.

    @ears picked up compiling these versions in the last 3 or 4 releases of MP1 as I know DJBlu hasnt been around for a while - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/djblus-custom-sky-data-grabber-for-mp1-9-onwards.127825/

    Cheers
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!