MP2 multiseat virgin install dead stuck

Discussion in 'General' started by gibman, January 15, 2018.

  1. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi.

    As I am growing more and more impatient with MP1 I wanted to take its big brother for a spin.

    (I a lready have a household multiseat install of MP1.)

    What I did was:

    1) removed tvservice from server PC
    2) kept mp1 singleseat on client PC
    3) installed server only version of mp2 on server
    4) installed client only version of mp2 on client

    I am able to start setupTV for mp2.. it finds and add channels. Even able to tune.
    MP2 server service running.
    The service monitor running on the server is able to see the mp2 server as running.
    so far 2 good.

    The service monitor on the client is RED and claims that no server is connected.

    So.. where is the service UI for fiddling with the server ?
    I was unable to find any .exe file that would fulfill this task.

    tried running this cmd on the server to see if any other processes were using port 1900 upnp also

    netstat -a -n -o | find "1900"

    nothing except for the monitor and the service.



    logs attached.

    /gibman
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Brownard
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brownard Development Group

    Joined:
    March 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    786
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,318 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hey, have you attached the client to the server? In the client, Settings -> General -> Connectivity -> Home server.
    There are also these in the logs also so there might be some other issue at play, firewall or AV maybe?
    Code (Text):
    1. [2018-01-15 22:07:57,390] [4456   ] [Main     ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint '127.0.0.1'
    2. [2018-01-15 22:07:57,412] [4478   ] [Main     ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint 'fe80::d44f:4c8a:6e43:2217'
    3. [2018-01-15 22:07:57,429] [4495   ] [Main     ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint 'fe80::10fc:2fe5:aa47:6a8e'
    4. [2018-01-15 22:07:57,446] [4512   ] [Main     ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint '192.168.1.127'
    5. [2018-01-15 22:07:57,463] [4529   ] [Main     ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint '2001:0:9d38:90d7:10fc:2fe5:aa47:6a8e'
    It's all done through the client GUI ;)
     
  4. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    hi.

    Firewall disabled at both ends.
    All running windoze 10 64bit

    When starting the MP2 client it instantly tells me that no home servers are available when I click the search button.

    /gibman
     
  5. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,992
    Likes Received:
    4,744
    Ratings:
    +6,789 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi @gibman! Nice to see you back again!

    I think there are network issues on server side: there are messages that the multicast address could not be bound, so there is no way to use UPnP (MP2 uses this for client/server communication).
    [2018-01-15 22:07:57,390] [4456 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint '127.0.0.1'
    [2018-01-15 22:07:57,412] [4478 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint 'fe80::d44f:4c8a:6e43:2217'
    [2018-01-15 22:07:57,429] [4495 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint 'fe80::10fc:2fe5:aa47:6a8e'
    [2018-01-15 22:07:57,446] [4512 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint '192.168.1.127'
    [2018-01-15 22:07:57,463] [4529 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - SSDPClientController: Unable to bind to multicast address(es) for endpoint '2001:0:9d38:90d7:10fc:2fe5:aa47:6a8e'

    Never seen such message before, so I have no real advice but checking your network config on server side.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    The log sadly does not specify as to what port number(s) that endpoint has trouble with.

    Anyone I should look out for ?

    /gibman
     
  7. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Have you tried rebooting the server?
    I also do not see any Client logs...
     
  8. Brownard
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brownard Development Group

    Joined:
    March 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    786
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,318 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I think it's 1900, though you seem to have already have checked that...
     
  9. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    358
    Ratings:
    +584 / 1
    Does anyone knows why the exception is not logged?
    Something like here.
     
  10. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,992
    Likes Received:
    4,744
    Ratings:
    +6,789 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I asked myself the same question ;)

    We should log the exeception and also increase log level from info to warning, as this is a very fundamental feature we need.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,110
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,311 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Can we not even add a dialog „could not access share, creditials might be needed“, when connecting a share, when access can not be guaranteed. I see too many users with this problem and just an entry in wiki is not enough then.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!