MP2 newbie EPG and other setup feedback...

Discussion in 'General' started by mrmr1234, January 16, 2018.

  1. mrmr1234

    mrmr1234 New Member

    Joined:
    January 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    So, I was forced to move to W10 after may years of using WMC on xp then W7 for Live TV and DVR. I've been going thru few options there, and so far none as painless as WMC. MP2 was pretty good to isntall and setup, Live TV setup good, video stable, audio quality very good. Next EPG setup! Hell! Tried many things, struggle mostly because I'm not a AV person, I barely know the difference between RF channel vs virtual channel, anyways, I finally figured it out.

    To summarize, in the US everything it appears is virtual channel.subchannel. MP2 setup methods all showing RF channel numbers is what IMO was the most confusing and obfuscating part of setup! WIth almost 100 channels showing up here in silicon valley (OTA), trying to manually map them is not appealing... lets say I'd rather just subscribe to newpaper and magazines :). To add insult to injury, the setup window which shows red/yellow/green colors for channel mappings could not be resized on W10 to get full TEXT of what I was gonna map each channel to. Editing files, XMLs, ...... meh!

    Anyways, is there an easier way? I just want TV guide like:

    2.1 FOX : show1 show2 ....
    7.1 CBS: show1 show2....
    .....



    thanks
    MR
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
  4. mrmr1234

    mrmr1234 New Member

    Joined:
    January 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Actually, I did try EPG-buddy, and after few wresting matches, did get it to generate tvguide.lst, which I finally managed to get MP2 to import/process..... but again the problem I think is the channels are showing up using RF channel IDs instead of virtual channel Ids, and mapping them doesn't appear to be easy, specially given that mostly red/yellow buttons in the mapping window are not wide enough to display full text.
     
  5. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    The TV Setup window can be expanded....
    Right click on an edge and move it...
     
  6. mrmr1234

    mrmr1234 New Member

    Joined:
    January 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Yes, I figured that out last night, and was able to expand, and now at least I see better.... still gave up trying to map almost all 100+ channels.

    BTW, I installed/tried jrvier and nextpvr last night, and it automatically did all the mapping. EPG download for jriver was automatic with all mappings, and npvr shows all channels in virtual channel.subchannel format... so i wonder why mp2 is different that way. Anyways, I'm gonna play around with them for a bit. Thanks for your help.
     
  7. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for that info..... Those have been around for some time and the EPG-Buddy and MP2 are still working things out.
    Oh... and your welcome
     
  8. Rob S

    Rob S New Member

    Joined:
    February 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hi, I am in the same situation as MRMR1234, recently moving from WMC to MediaPortal on Windows 10. I haven't gotten to trying to map the channels yet, I'm struggling to get the EPG to populate. I went into setup and followed the Wiki article to configure the guide settings. It's been 10 hours, and all channels show no program data. Here are screenshots of my settings. Any advice would be appreciated. DVB EPG Main.PNG TV EPG Grabber.PNG
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!