[further infos missing] - MP2 Server crashes on channel scan

Discussion in '2.2 Archive' started by Tim, February 3, 2019.

  1. Tim

    Tim New Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    MediaPortal 2 Version: 2.2

    Description
    This is a new Win10 system (i5, 32GB memory, amples of disk space) setup as a replacement for old Win7 MCE system.

    I initially installed Kodi and Plex server, but uninstalled Plex server. Note that Plex scanned tuners, found channels and TV worked (viewing, recording).

    Installed MP2.2 client and server.

    When I go to the MP2 server, to configure, it recognizes the 3 tuners (2 Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1265 model 01196, 1 old crusty USB). I disable all but ATSC.

    I've tried selecting different tuners to scan for channles - all result in same crash around channel 50. This is ATSC, OTA.

    The log file indicated this may be related to Windows Software Protection Service w/ MP2-Server.exe. I lowered UAC, ran as Admin - all still repro'd. The server stack trace notes System.Net.Sockets.Socket.

    Given what I see in the logs (and it's mostly a guess), submitting as bug.



    Attached are MP2 logs and AppCrash_SetupTV.exe.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    Attempt to scan channels in MP2 server
     

    Attached Files:

    • MP2-logs.zip
      File size:
      419.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      February 3, 2019
      Views:
      28
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,698
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    Scanning problems are almost always due to bad TV card drivers. In your logs I can see
    Not sure why this would be recognized as a 950 given that your hardware is 1265. The Hauppauge website states Driver85_1_59_35167.exe (08/02/2018) as the most recent driver version. Please check if your system is using this driver.
     
  4. Tim

    Tim New Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks for a quick response!

    The 950 driver is expected. I have 3 tuners installed:

    Internal Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1265 model 01196, diver version 1.59.36248.0 (09/05/2018)
    Internal Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1265 model 01196, diver version 1.59.36248.0 (09/05/2018)
    USB Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950q ATSC/QAM, driver version 1.99.31088.0 (03/29/2013)

    I am surprised to see Hauppauge WinTV 885 mentioned in the Server.log - not sure where this is coming from. I tried scanning with the 1265 tuners and the 950, so the 950 would be in the logs.

    I am planning on replacing the 950, so will just pull that sometime today and try the scanning again.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,698
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The Hauppauge website references 35167 as the most recent driver version for Windows 10.
    But maybe you found indeed something more recent.

    Anyway, the channel information can also be manually “injected”. Maybe there is some other US user who can provide an export of his/her ATSC channels to you.

    Notwithstanding the scan should not lead to a crash. Please set the log level to DEBUG before attempting a new scan this will produce a more detailed log.
     
  6. Tim

    Tim New Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Win10 drivers are listed on Hauppauge Support | Product Selector, but there's a note that this is to avoid errors for Hauppauge products (which I'm not using). I'll remove the 950 tuner, turn on DEBUG level and attempt again. If that still crashes, then will downgrade the 1265 drivers to 35167 and try again.
     
  7. Tim

    Tim New Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Ignored other things to try again :)

    No joy with either the 36248 or 35167 drivers. Attached latest logs (13.36.11.zip is with the 36248 drivers, 13.56.12.zip is with 35167).

    Confirmed that TV Server was in DEBUG mode. I'm newb, so assume this is correct location to set levels.

    I'm comfortable injecting channel info, but would prefer not to w/ delay this would likely mean. QQ: any idea if it's possible to quickly glean this from my old Win7 WMC system?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,698
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    the crash is reproducibly occurring at channel 51:
    Unfortunately the setuptv.log remains at INFO level while the server log is at DEBUG and stops four seconds earlier:
    According to Wikipedia channel 51 is not used:
    I can't tell you why scanning channel 51 throws this error. The solution could be to adjust the tuning parameters to not scan channel 51.

    @morpheus_xx , do you know which file to edit so that the ATSC scan stops at channel 50?
     
  9. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Ratings:
    +6,796 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Not sure if I understood correctly, but if you are looking for the tuningdetails that are used for scanning, you can find them under: C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\SlimTVCore\v3.0\TuningParameters\atsc.

    You can just copy one of the existing files and edit it in a text editor (xml structure) to remove/comment unwanted frequencies.

    What kind of tuner is it? Internal card in PCI(e) or networked? I wonder why there are network related SocketException?
     
  10. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,698
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hauppauge 1265 PCI. The card is working in Windows MCE.
     
  11. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,698
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Indeed, that should not happen.

    According to Wikipedia there are 51 ATSC channels. #37 is reserved (and indeed skipped by MP with no signal). Scanning continues up to #50 and then crashes at #51. This last channel is also reserved. Notwithstanding, TVServer should not crash when scanning it. That said there is more than just this MP2 user in the US and ATSC scanning has worked before.

    The TVSetup.log has stayed at INFO level. Is there any way to also have TVSetup log at DEBUG level?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!