MP2 - Spring'16 - MP2 Spring 16: can't Repair, can't Uninstall

Discussion in 'Older releases' started by Ralph Holmes, November 14, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ralph Holmes
    • Premium Supporter

    Ralph Holmes MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    I've been using MP2 since Windows 10 was issued. Yesterday it wouldn't record, nor even respond to any of the commands: MP2 has crashed!
    I tried to Repair it, using the setup file downloaded from the Team Media Portal Site: that failed, so I tried to Uninstall MP2: that failed too.
    I also tried to Uninstall MP2 in Safe Mode, but that failed to run the Windows Installer.

    The SetUp log is not very user-friendly and I don't know how to proceed.

    I have appended the log files produced by the Log Collector app.

    Can you help me, please.
    --- Post updated ---
    Can't find an Edit facility.

    Second sentence in my original post should read "Yesterday it wouldn't record broadcast TV, ..."



    Sorry about that!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,807
    Likes Received:
    2,143
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,605 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  4. Ralph Holmes
    • Premium Supporter

    Ralph Holmes MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Sorry, I failed to mention that the version of MP2 I have been using is the Spring 16 update.

    Also my attempts to Repair and Uninstall MP2 have been made using the Spring 16 update.

    Nevertheless, thank you for replying.
     
  5. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    356
    Ratings:
    +581 / 1
    Could you please post the content of your hosts file? It's located at:
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\hosts

    Do you have Spybot or any other antivirus/malware programs installed?
     
  6. Ralph Holmes
    • Premium Supporter

    Ralph Holmes MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    I followed your advice and installed MP2 from the "weekly updates" link. As far as I can see, MP2 is now running.

    However, I have since had four BSOD IRQL_GT_ZERO_AT_SYSTEM_SERVICE when attempting to look at the TV guide.

    I use Avast, Spybot, SpywareBlaster and Malwarebytes. The first three run constantly in the background. Malwarebytes runs only when I invite it to do so.

    I would have appended the hosts file, but the "Upload a File" option will not accept a file with no extension - I've tried changing the extension to jpg, but then I get a message telling me the file is not an image. I can't upload a file with .backup as an extension either.

    Thank you again for your help.
     
  7. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    356
    Ratings:
    +581 / 1
    You can just paste the content of the file as plain text. I was asking about the hosts file because your log file contains this:
    Code (Text):
    1. [2016-11-14 11:04:52,114] [MediaPortal.Common.Services.Logging.Log4NetLogger] [14       ] [DEBUG] - UPnPClientControlPoint: Found MP2 home server 'MediaPortal 2 server' (system ID '548e7ec5-c558-4e69-8927-855318623c50') at host 'www.007guard.com' (IP address: '127.0.0.1')
    2. [2016-11-14 11:04:52,286] [MediaPortal.Common.Services.Logging.Log4NetLogger] [14       ] [INFO ] - ServerConnectionManager: Connected to home server '548e7ec5-c558-4e69-8927-855318623c50' at host 'www.007guard.com' (IP address: '127.0.0.1')
    3. [2016-11-14 11:05:31,538] [MediaPortal.Common.Services.Logging.Log4NetLogger] [Main     ] [DEBUG] - HideMainWindow
    4. [2016-11-14 11:05:31,541] [MediaPortal.Common.Services.Logging.Log4NetLogger] [Main     ] [DEBUG] - ServerStatus: Connected
    5. [2016-11-14 11:05:31,666] [MediaPortal.Common.Services.Logging.Log4NetLogger] [Main     ] [ERROR] - AppController.UpDateClients
    6. System.IO.IOException: Unable to read data from the transport connection: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host. ---> System.Net.Sockets.SocketException: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host
    7.    at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Receive(Byte[] buffer, Int32 offset, Int32 size, SocketFlags socketFlags)
    8.    at System.Net.Sockets.NetworkStream.Read(Byte[] buffer, Int32 offset, Int32 size)
    9.    --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    10.    at System.Net.ConnectStream.Read(Byte[] buffer, Int32 offset, Int32 size)
    11.    at System.IO.Compression.DeflateStream.Read(Byte[] array, Int32 offset, Int32 count)
    12.    at UPnP.Infrastructure.Utils.CompressionHelper.Decompress(IDeCompressor compressor, Stream inputStream)
    13.    at UPnP.Infrastructure.Utils.CompressionHelper.Decompress(WebResponse response)
    14.    at UPnP.Infrastructure.CP.DeviceConnection.OnCallResponseReceived(IAsyncResult ar)
    15.    at System.Net.LazyAsyncResult.Complete(IntPtr userToken)
    16.    at System.Net.ContextAwareResult.CaptureOrComplete(ExecutionContext& cachedContext, Boolean returnContext)
    17.    at System.Net.ContextAwareResult.FinishPostingAsyncOp()
    18.    at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.BeginGetResponse(AsyncCallback callback, Object state)
    19.    at UPnP.Infrastructure.CP.DeviceConnection.OnActionCalled(CpAction action, IList`1 inParams, Object clientState)
    20.    at UPnP.Infrastructure.CP.DeviceTree.CpAction.BeginInvokeAction(IList`1 inParameters, AsyncCallback callback, Object state)
    21.    at UPnP.Infrastructure.CP.DeviceTree.CpAction.InvokeAction(IList`1 inParameters)
    22.    at MediaPortal.Common.Services.ServerCommunication.UPnPServerControllerServiceProxy.GetConnectedClients()
    23.    at MediaPortal.ServiceMonitor.ViewModel.AppController.RaiseUpdateServerStatus()
    Does the hosts file contains any 'www.007guard.com' entries? If so, try to delete them.
     
  8. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,807
    Likes Received:
    2,143
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,605 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    You can .zip the hosts file to upload it.

    Three Malware Software constantly running at the same time??? It's a wonder you even can use anything on this machine. One malware soft is not necessary (as they only helps the companies who sell them), but ok, if you feel better this way...Two are bad and more than two are a disaster for any system. Those tools are fighting each other and are blocking most parts of the system. If you ever want to get a stable system you must explicitly exclude all and any folder related to MP...
     
  9. Ralph Holmes
    • Premium Supporter

    Ralph Holmes MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Never really thought about it. I've just removed Spywareblaster and Malwarebytes anyway.

    No success with the "hosts" file. I opened it using "notepad", deleted the references to "007guard", but can't save it back to its original location.

    In the meantime, I'll attempt to add references to MP2 to those files which Spybot ignores.

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  10. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    356
    Ratings:
    +581 / 1
    You have to do it with admin rights. One way to do it:
    1. copy the org file to your desktop,
    2. edit the copied file,
    3. copy the edited file from desktop to the org location (c:\windows\system32.drivers\etc)
    4. windows explorer should ask about admin right, by saying "yes" the file should be copied and replaced the org one.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Ralph Holmes
    • Premium Supporter

    Ralph Holmes MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!