MP2A4 server with existing Argus TV and MP1 clients -- worth the upgrade?

Discussion in 'General' started by Captain Dunsel, January 26, 2014.

  1. Captain Dunsel

    Captain Dunsel Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 26, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I've been using MP1 for about a month now after a long and successful relationship with SageTV. My current setup:
    • Windows 8.1 x64 server with MP1.6, Argus TV 2.2.1 scheduling, SQL Server Express 2012 with SP1, Ceton InfiniTV 6
    • TV via Verizon FiOS, guide information from Schedules Direct
    • Two MP1.6 clients on Windows 7 x64 with SP1, running on Intel NUC
    My experience so far has been great, and as this is my first post to the forum I can't pass up this opportunity to publicly thank the developers for their hard work. :)

    I've been a developer for 35 years, so I'm always willing and interested to play with beta code, and I'm planning to deploy the MP2 *client* on a test system to mess around with it. But the bigger question is: given my setup above, is there any benefit to *just upgrading the server to 2.0A4* in the above configuration?

    Specifically, would the existing 1.6 clients gain any new features or benefits, would my server and tuner (which is Cablecard-based) see any features or improvements, etc. I don't want to touch the clients until I have the time to evaluate the MP2 client for risk of lowering my current WAF, but if the server would see any benefits independent of client changes, I'd certainly be interested in that.



    Thanks for your opinions on this...

    CD
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,991
    Likes Received:
    4,744
    Ratings:
    +6,788 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi and welcome to MP forum :)

    MP2 is completely independent from MP1, so installing it on server only doesn't have an impact on MP1 at all. It won't change your MP1 installation. Only the MP2-Client can use the MP2-Server.

    So you can safely try both products on same system.

    I would recommend one of the 2 installers from threads below, which are based on MP2 Alpha 4 but contain already all required components for TV support.
    The 2 builds are taking two different approaches to provide TV:
    1. Using existing installed MP1 TvServer and MPExtended for communication. This one is the better way for MP1/MP2 "mixed mode"
    2. Using the new TVE35 engine, which is currently under heavy development and will replace TvServer in future. As you are from "ATSC-region", I cannot recommend this version for now, as there are known issues (i.e. ATSC channel scanning is broken).
    Please read more about features and known issues inside the 2 linked threads.

    I switched my HTPC to MP2 using MPExtended and MP1 TvServer and use it since one month exclusively. This fact brought many improvements to features, as I require them ;)

    So feel free to make your own experiences and don't hesitate to share your impressions :)
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello Captain Dunsel

    Welcome from me as well. :)
    MP2 Native TV currently doesn't support CableCARD tuners, so you'd run into trouble with this:
    Support is on the way. It will just take some time...

    mm
     
  5. Captain Dunsel

    Captain Dunsel Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 26, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Thanks to both of you for your quick and clear replies. I now have a better feel for how things fit together and how to proceed with testing and evaluation.

    @mm, as CableCARD support gets closer, LMK if you need help with specific testing. In addition to the InfiniTV 6 currently in service I also have an InfiniTV 4 sitting on the shelf that I can put into a spare system.


    CD
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. CanadianEh

    CanadianEh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 21, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Any update on the status of ATSC tuners in MP2's TVServer 3.5?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!