MUSIC RATING UPDATER - plugin to store star rating inside each mp3 file | Page 2

Discussion in 'Listen Music' started by kiwijunglist, June 2, 2009.

  1. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    From memory - with 1.0.2 when i click the start button i get HDD activity and a message saying it is updating the ratings. Then when i close MP Config, and check the id3tags the ratings have been updated.



    With MP1.1+SVN nothing happens.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    That's exactly what it is doing in 1.1 + SVN as well.
    just tried it.
     
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    so your saying the plugin doesn't work with MP1.1+SVN?
     
  5. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    no, sorry that i was unclear.

    It IS working with latest SVN version.
     
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    maybe my music database is corrupt or something then... are there any kind of logs i can post?

    I backed up then deleted my music database.
    However I can't recreate the database in configuration.exe , because it thows an error "Audioscrobber password is empty", before deleting the database i had a login/passwd setup, however after deleting the database audioscrobber wont let me enter save any login details i give it. So i can't start a new database.

    I tried changing my shared folder, and rescaning then giving some new files a rating, however the updater still doesn't do anything.

    PS I have the following music database files

    MusicDatabaseV10.db3 - Size 0 Kb
    MusicDatabaseV11.db3 - Size 3024 Kb
     
  7. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    Audioscrobbler settings are stored within musicdb. so when you delete the file, you need to re-apply them.
    i'll recreate a test version for 1.1 this evening, which alloows also real-time update.

    Are you still using 1.02, or can i get rid of the 1.02 dependedn stuff in the plugin?
     
  8. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    I ended up being able to recreate the database without the audioscrober problem, however still no joy with ur plugin.
    Personally i no longer use 1.0.2 ; not sure if other users are using it.
     
  9. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    Ran several tests now with 1.1.
    The update works perfect.

    try with the attached version. this is what i used.

    EDIT: a test file, compatible with 1.1 is found a few posts later.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    Thanks, new version seem to work!
     
  11. Den70

    Den70 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: Plugin / standalone .exe to Scan music database for track rating and store in id3

    Seems like the perfect plugin for me but I can't get it to work. In MP 1.2 it didn't do anything. In MP 1.3 I get an error a few seconds after I change the rating of a song.

    I get this message and after that MP crashes.


     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!