[confirm] - [Music] Skip to next track is delayed by 2 seconds

Discussion in '1.4.0 Pre-Release' started by CypherMK, May 19, 2013.

  1. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    As the title says: When I play some tracks, and I want to skip to the next one, it takes about 2 seconds, before the track is actually skipped. The onscreen info skips immediately to next one.



    Also reproducable on another pc[DOUBLEPOST=1369000990][/DOUBLEPOST]The logs
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Can't access logs on my phone but do you have cross fading enabled?
     
  4. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    No. Only gapless playback. No asio. No wasapi. No upmix.
     
  5. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Umm confused... @hwahrmann any ideas?

    Did you gather these logs in debug mode via the watchdog tool?
    Looks like you did but I can see
    Code (Text):
    1. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\GUIGlobalSearch.dll' (non threaded)
    2. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\GUIGlobalSearch.dll' (0 ms running time)
    3. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\IMDb+.dll' (non threaded)
    4. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\IMDb+.dll' (0 ms running time)
    5. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\InfoService.dll' (non threaded)
    6. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\InfoService.dll' (0 ms running time)
    7. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\IntelligentFrameCorrectionUI.dll' (non threaded)
    8. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\IntelligentFrameCorrectionUI.dll' (0 ms running time)
    9. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\libspotify.dll' (non threaded)
    10. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\libspotify.dll' (0 ms running time)
    11. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\MovingPictures.dll' (non threaded)
    12. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\MovingPictures.dll' (0 ms running time)
    13. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\MPEIPlugin.dll' (non threaded)
    14. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\MPEIPlugin.dll' (0 ms running time)
    15. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\MP-TVSeries.dll' (non threaded)
    16. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\MP-TVSeries.dll' (0 ms running time)
    17. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: Begin loading '\windows\MusicInfoHandlerGUI.dll' (non threaded)
    18. [2013-05-19 23:51:56,661] [Log  ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - PluginManager: End loading '\windows\MusicInfoHandlerGUI.dll' (0 ms running time)
    So might be an unrelated issue there....
     
  6. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I did mediaportal debug mode and then the first option.

    I will check again tomorrow. Maybe I did something wrong. But the strange thing is that my other PC has the same issue.
     
  7. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Have a look at the settings for the buffer.
    Try to lower it as much as possible.
    i have e.g. 0,5 seconds and for me the switch is instantly, without any delay.
     
  8. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I never changed that setting I only upgraded to 1.40. Never had any issue with skipping. But I will try. I will also try a clean install on my test pc.

    But you guys do not have this issue?
     
  9. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    The BASS Player totally changed for 1.4.
    I don't have this issue.

    If you are on Windows 7 or Windows 8, try to use the WASAPI mode, instead of Default BASS player
     
  10. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I tried to reduce the buffer size to 0.5 sec on my HTPC, and now I get a delay with skipping of aprox. 0.5 sec. A lot better but still worse then on MP 1.30

    I cannot use WASAPI mode. It is greyed out.
     
  11. CypherMK
    • Team MediaPortal

    CypherMK Test Group

    Joined:
    March 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +617 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Another update.

    I did a clean install of MP 1.40 on my test PC. Same issue. Skiptime is the same as the buffer size.
    Then I tried to install MP 1.30. Settings default (5 sec buffer!). Skipping is instant!

    So, my conclusion is: BUG! :p

    Hope this helps.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!