My Anime 2 | Page 28

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by lwerndly, June 2, 2009.

  1. craige1
    • Premium Supporter

    craige1 Member

    Joined:
    February 1, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT Manager for large organisation
    Location:
    Alice Springs
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Sorry about the question, ill try making it more clear.

    As i understand you want the anime plugin to do this.
    [​IMG]



    but atm anime does this.
    [​IMG]

    When anime plugin is in list layout mode its fine. Simply change the list to years just like in MP.

    The problem occurs when in any other layout, banner, or wide banner. Since these layouts use banners if we were to change the list to year dates, you would just get a bunch of blank banner placeholders. Both tvseries and moving pictures dont allow sort by years so i couldnt find any solutions there :(.

    One way would be to disable banner layouts while in years view. But this would remove that functionalty from the banners, which feels like a step backwards.

    [edit]
    I just realised another way which seems to be ok. In the year’s selection list currently in anime plugin, add "list years" or something similar on the top of the year’s selection list. Selecting this view will change the anime list to years just like in MP videos, but by having it a separate option, it leaves the current year view settings alone for the banner views.

    The plugin currently doesnt remember view settings, so if you want it to start on that view, a feature to remeber last view would also need to be added.
     

    Attached Files:

    • myvideos.jpg
      myvideos.jpg
      File size:
      50.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 23, 2009
      Views:
      242
    • animeyears.jpg
      animeyears.jpg
      File size:
      81.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 23, 2009
      Views:
      232
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. yhoogi
    • Premium Supporter

    yhoogi MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 9, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ratings:
    +48 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ah, now I understand your question:

    As I am almost in the List-View as there are still a lot of banners not available, so I had no real use for it.
    Therefore I had not checked the impacts on the other views.

    Also I am using exclusively my remote, so everything needs to be accessible without trying to navigate to sub-menus


    An alternative approach would be to generate a set of banners with the year number.


    Cheers,
     
  4. Raytestrak
    • Premium Supporter

    Raytestrak MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Honselersdijk
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Two small question, one of which I don't know is plugin or skin related, the other is definately skin related (help request actually).

    1. In mptvseries (and other MP plugins), when you press escape, you go back to the episode selection screen and see the details and a small preview windows in the top right. In Anime2 I go back to the episode selection screen, but I don't see the preview windows nor the episode image. Only the episode list.
    2. I'm trying to get my skin (MediaStream in my case) to show the missing episode icon in the episode list. Right now, it only shows for groups (but not the groups in the main view). In a nutshell, I can't see if a single group has missing episodes. I've been fiddling with <isvisible> controls, but without much luck. I got either to show always or not at all :D


    Ideally, I would like it to be recursive so that the missing icon only doesn't shows for complete groups and utopially (if it's not a word yet, I'm gonna claim the rights to it ;)), I would like it to NOT show for missing specials. I do want the report to show all missing episodes, including specials etc. though. This would be a plugin feature request though. Does this make any sense?
     
  5. craige1
    • Premium Supporter

    craige1 Member

    Joined:
    February 1, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT Manager for large organisation
    Location:
    Alice Springs
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    scratch
     
  6. FdL

    FdL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 17, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Something came up when importing stuff.

    This series I had hashed from a hard disk location in my network. Now I burned a DVD backup, and as I always do I ran an import on the DVD, to have it as the final reference for the episodes. My intention was to then delete the hard disk locations.

    Then I tried to test this by looking at one episode, and saw those two exact entries for files. But the thing is that neither work, so no matter which one you click on, you can't get it to play.

    This happened too with another series, which I had moved, then imported another group's episodes for it. So now I have 3 entries for each episode, two of the hard disk versions and one of the new group's DVD. The new stuff works from the file selection, but the old hard disk based don't, neither do.

    I see a pattern here, this doesn't seem to handle locations well for some reason.

    I'm gonna enter configuration do clean it up for a bit and see if I can solve it. But this is something I'll be doing regularly, so I'd want to know what's the most efficient way to do this. That is, I'll be getting new series and hosting them on the network HD, until they are completed, at which point I will burn them into a DVD backup and delete the HD files.

    Next thing I'm gonna
     
  7. lwerndly

    lwerndly Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 14, 2008
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +149 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Sorry this is a pretty late reply, been busy on other projects.
    Yes this should be working now.
    Some times AniDB will time out and files may not be added. You can re-sync files one by one by setting it unwatched and back to watched.
    I mentioned somewhere why I can't do a mass sync'ing.

    Yup this is still and outstanding issue, getting there eventually :)


    Yup I have noticed this as well, it's the #1 on my priority list.

    Don't keep us hanging on!

    mpiva and craige1 have done a huge amount of work while I've been slacking, so I'll do a release in the next couple of days. Should address a few of the issues mentioned recently
     
  8. FdL

    FdL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 17, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oh, LOL! XD

    That's my usual scatterbrain posting :p

    I had a battle of shonen proportions (including length) with getting a series to be properly recognised and classified in my database. The series was Sorcerer Hunters.

    I had converted the ogm files I downloaded to avi. I think that was the main problem, as the plugin failed to recognise any. I didn't have a series either, so I had to manually enter it with the AniDB and TVDB codes. Doing that alone initially caused that it failed to show anything in the list. I thought something would kick in with the Run Import and would get the episodes. But well, I couldn't even see the entry I just created for the episodes.

    So I had to add them manually >.< Took ages, and the problem still persisted. Only whenever I would turn the web service off, I would get my whole list back, with the entry for the new series showing something like "<anidbromanjiname>", which of course, it didn't have.

    Finally I solved it, I can't quite remember how, but it might have involved deleting the TVDB code for the series and forcing it to search for it from the "not found in TVDB" screen, then fortunately the Import kicking in at some point.

    So now the series entry works, weirdly enough it's slow as hell whenever I enter that series, hangs ups, delays, etc. But works.

    I need to do the same with Love Hina... :( Is there any other better way to do it?


    Also, the Cleanup Database option doesn't erase the db clean, right? Its just a maintenance thing?
     
  9. Raytestrak
    • Premium Supporter

    Raytestrak MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Honselersdijk
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Good to 'see' you again, I was starting to wonder if you were okay (internet is stupid).

    Nice to hear you have an extra couple of devs on your side!
     
  10. craige1
    • Premium Supporter

    craige1 Member

    Joined:
    February 1, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT Manager for large organisation
    Location:
    Alice Springs
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Yeah the cleanup database is a maintenance thing :).
     
  11. yhoogi
    • Premium Supporter

    yhoogi MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 9, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ratings:
    +48 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi Iwerndly,

    I started to import all my files to a WHS as I discovered that some DVD's started to degrade. But running the server constantly is a financial pain (150W) so I would like to keep the files on a HDD / server in low power standby and have them available only on request.
    My two questions:
    • Is it possible to extend the CD/DVD option to HDD files as well? (To avoid deletion during a file clean up)
    • Maybe to introduce a WakeOnLAN in case these files are accessed (with a longer time-out for playback as the server requires a bit longer to come back up)


    Cheers,
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!