Mysqld.exe needs 20% CPU

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by hanfmaster, December 17, 2011.

  1. hanfmaster

    hanfmaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 25, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    graz
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.2.1
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamdMP
    Windows Version: Server: Win7 /Client:Win7
    CPU Type: AMD Phenom X2 550@X4 B90/Intel T7500
    HDD: Samsung HD501J/WDC WD2500
    Memory: 4GB DDR3/2GB DDR3
    Motherboard: MSI 880GMA-E45/Dell
    Video Card: 880g/9600m GT
    Video Card Driver:
    Sound Card: realteck HD/SigmaTel HD
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver: / 6.10.0.56.14
    1. TV Card: terratec cinergy s2 / is client
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-S2
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    h.264 Video Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Astra 19.2°E
    HTPC Case:
    Cooling:
    Power Supply: 300W
    Remote:
    TV: Samsung 2232BW
    TV - HTPC Connection: dvi

    Is it normal that the mysqld.exe needs, for just a short time period , 20% CPU?
    Most of the time it is <1% CPU usage.
    Actually this would not bug me, but my PWM-Fan gets scared and starts to rotate faster.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,930
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Mysqld.exe needs 20% CPU

    Maybe this has something to do with the EPG grabbing?! I don't know..
     
  4. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,946
    Likes Received:
    2,152
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,636 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Mysqld.exe needs 20% CPU

    Hi.
    This is normal, I fear. Every now and then the CPU Load raises. I think this is due some database work (index, table check,...). If you disable EPG completely this will happen also, so EPG could not be the reason. To be precisely, this happens also, if you did not have MP installed at all.
     
  5. hanfmaster

    hanfmaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 25, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    graz
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    AW: Mysqld.exe needs 20% CPU

    Would it help if i use SQL Server 2008?
     
  6. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,946
    Likes Received:
    2,152
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,636 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Mysqld.exe needs 20% CPU

    Hi.
    MS SQL also did some Database Work in Background. So there should be not that big difference.
     
  7. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    This db using 20%, mine does this about 8am every morning for about 5 minutes, does it cause any other problem would be my worry, as no effects seen after a couple of years, I'm really not bothered by it any more and just ignore it.
     
  8. hanfmaster

    hanfmaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 25, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    graz
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    I reinstalled win7 today and did install MS SQL, bit tricky but with the wiki it worked.
    So we'll see...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!